Projects of the BMBF-funding measure "Expansion of China expertise at German universities"

The political, economic and scientific significance of China is growing steadily. China is Germany's largest trading partner and is a key player in foreign policy. At the same time, the Chinese model of society and state is different from the German one.

Therefore, it is essential for successful cooperation with China that enough people in Germany know and understand China, that they have learned, studied, worked or lived there or that they can communicate in Chinese. Sufficient China expertise in Germany is a prerequisite for shaping bilateral relations in all areas according to Germany’s interests.

The "China Strategy of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research 2015 to 2020" recommends the "Creation of a broader China competence in Germany" in Action Area 1. This is where the BMBF funding measure "Innovative concepts for expanding China expertise at German universities" comes into play.

The funding measure aims to expand and strengthen German-Chinese cooperation in education and research and to increase the ability to act regarding scientific and economic exchange relations with China across all disciplines. China expertise is enhanced, for example, through imparting of language and cultural competence, workshops and training courses, measures in the field of student mobility, joint study programmes or courses with Chinese partner universities, interdisciplinary study programmes as well as cooperative doctorates. The concepts bundle the existing Chinese-related measures at the respective university, coordinate them and complement them with new tools.

Funded Projects 2017 to 2022

The funding measure "Innovative concepts for expanding China expertise at German universities" evoked great interest within the German scientific landscape: the responsible project management agency received more than 80 project outlines. Of these, a total of eleven projects were selected, each receiving funding for three years between 2017 and 2022. Among the main topics covered by the projects are engineering and economics, natural and life sciences, as well as cultural studies and law. The measures target different groups of people at universities, in particular students, scientists and administrative staff.

Deutschlandkarte mit China-Kompetenzzentren an deutschen Hochschulen
© DLR

Projects (in alphabetical order of the acronym)

Projekte der BMBF-Fördermaßnahme „Ausbau der China-Kompetenz an deutschen Hochschulen“

Die politische, wirtschaftliche und wissenschaftliche Bedeutung Chinas wächst stetig. China ist Deutschlands größter Handelspartner und auch außenpolitisch ein zentraler Akteur. Gleichzeitig ist das chinesische Gesellschafts- und Staatsmodell anders als das deutsche.

Wesentliche Grundlage für eine erfolgreiche Kooperation mit China ist daher, dass genügend Menschen in Deutschland China kennen und verstehen, dass sie dort gelernt, studiert, gearbeitet oder gelebt haben oder dass sie sich auf Chinesisch verständigen können. Ausreichende China-Kompetenz in Deutschland ist eine Voraussetzung dafür, dass die bilateralen Beziehungen in allen Bereichen im deutschen Sinne gestaltet werden können.

Die „China-Strategie des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung 2015 bis 2020“ empfiehlt im Aktionsfeld 1 die „Schaffung einer breiteren China-Kompetenz in Deutschland“. Hier setzt die BMBF-Fördermaßnahme „Innovative Konzepte zum Ausbau der China-Kompetenz an deutschen Hochschulen“ an.

Ziel der Fördermaßnahme ist es, die deutsch-chinesische Zusammenarbeit in Bildung und Forschung auszubauen und zu festigen und die Handlungsfähigkeit bezogen auf wissenschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Austauschbeziehungen mit China quer über alle Fachbereiche zu steigern. Der Ausbau von Kompetenz erfolgt beispielsweise durch Sprach- und Kulturkompetenzvermittlung, Workshops und Schulungen, Maßnahmen im Bereich Studierendenmobilität, gemeinsame Studienprogramme oder -kurse mit chinesischen Partneruniversitäten, interdisziplinäre Studienprogramme oder -kurse oder kooperative Promotionen . Die Konzepte bündeln die gegebenenfalls an der Hochschule bestehenden chinabezogenen Maßnahmen, stimmen diese aufeinander ab und ergänzen sie durch neue Instrumente sinnvoll.

Geförderte Projekte 2017 bis 2022

Die Bekanntmachung „Ausbau der China-Kompetenz an deutschen Hochschulen“ rief großes Interesse in der deutsche Wissenschaftslandschaft hervor: den zuständigen Projektträger erreichten mehr als 80 Projektskizzen. Von diesen wurden insgesamt elf Projekte ausgewählt, die jeweils eine Förderung für drei Jahre im Zeitraum von 2017 bis 2022 erhalten. Zu den fachlichen Schwerpunkten, die durch die Projekte abgedeckt werden, zählen u.a. Ingenieur- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Natur- und Lebenswissenschaften, sowie Kultur- und Rechtswissenschaften. Vermittelt werden China-Kompetenzen an unterschiedliche Personengruppen an den Hochschulen, insbesondere Studierende, Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und administrative Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter.

Deutschlandkarte mit China-Kompetenzzentren an deutschen Hochschulen
© DLR

Projekte (in alphabetischer Reihenfolge des Akronyms)