China – a strong partner in education, research and innovation

China and Germany are important strategic partners in respect to research and education. Both countries have intensified their cooperation in recent decades in order to increase their innovative strength. Common topics include innovation, urbanisation, life sciences, higher education and vocational training, as well as the protection of resources and the environment.

Skyline of Shanghai with photovoltaic systems

© Jeff_Hu / iStock / Thinkstock

Funding opportunities

No current announcements for cooperation with China.

Political framework

The research cooperation between the two countries is based on an 1978 intergovernmental agreement on scientific and technological cooperation. Ever since, topics and framework conditions of the cooperation are addressed in regular meetings which are attended by representatives of the research ministries of both countries, and of research, funding and intermediary organisations as well as individual scientists.

Strategic education policy meetings with the Chinese Ministry of Education have been aiming to encourage further educational cooperation between the two countries since 2004 (until 2009 there were so-called strategic higher education policy dialogues). In addition, regular meetings of the German-Chinese Alliance for Vocational Education and Training have been held since 2011. In June 2016, both committees were merged, forming the German-Chinese Steering Group for Education based on a Memorandum of Understanding. The Steering Group’s first meeting took place in December 2017.

Research and education cooperation were further deepened with the introduction of the German-Chinese Intergovernmental Consultations that took place in 2011, 2012, 2014, 2016 and, most recently, 2018.

The Joint Action Plan 'Shaping innovation together!', which was adopted during the third intergovernmental consultations in October 2014, encourages a strategic partnership of both countries also in those fields that fall within the remit of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

The 'China Strategy of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research 2015-2020', published in October 2015, is an important contribution to the implementation of the innovation partnership between Germany and China adopted in 2014. As a basis for cooperation with China in research, science and education until 2020, the strategy aims to ensure success and mutual benefit. The strategy analyses what has been achieved so far and outlines goals and concrete measures for further cooperation. It is the first and so far only country specific strategy of the BMBF. The complete strategy and a short version are available for download on the BMBF website.

Priorities of the cooperation

At present, key topics of the Sino-German research partnership under the aegis of the BMBF are innovation research, clean water and environmental technologies, urbanisation and land management, life sciences and bioeconomy, marine and polar research, climate research, electromobility, digital economy (Industry 4.0) as well as higher and vocational education and exchange of students and scientists.

In addition, the BMBF supports the establishment of thematic alumni networks and promotes the expansion of China competence in Germany in a joint effort with the Federal Foreign Office and the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs.

Seletcted measures of the BMBF China Strategy

Role of the International Bureau

On behalf of the BMBF, the International Bureau aims to expand the international network of German universities, research institutes and companies in order for the German science and industry sectors to gain expertise and obtain the lead in innovation. Thus, the International Bureau contributes to the implementation of the international dimension in the BMBF’s programmes and also provides project funding on behalf of the BMBF. Focus areas of currently funded projects with China managed by the International Bureau are thematic alumni networks, concepts for the development of China expertise at universities and application-oriented projects with industry participation (so-called '2 + 2' projects) in various fields as well as research projects on marine environment and polar research.

In order to acknowledge China's steadily growing importance as a research nation and cooperation partner for Germany, the International Bureau stays in close contact with Chinese project management agencies and ministries. For this purpose, a Memorandum of Understanding was signed on 19 January 2016 in Beijing between the DLR Project Management Agency and its Chinese partner organisation NCSTE (National Center for Science and Technology Evaluation).

China – ein starker Partner in Bildung, Forschung und Innovation

China und Deutschland sind in Forschung und Bildung wichtige strategische Partner. Beide Länder haben die Kooperation in den letzten Jahrzehnten intensiviert, um ihre Innovationskraft zu steigern. Gemeinsame Themen sind unter anderem Innovation, Urbanisierung, Lebenswissenschaften, Hochschulzusammenarbeit und Berufsbildung sowie Ressourcen- und Umweltschutz.

Skyline von Shanghai mit Photovoltaik-Anlagen - China

© Jeff_Hu / iStock / Thinkstock

Fördermöglichkeiten

Aktuell keine laufenden Bekanntmachungen zur Zusammenarbeit mit China.

Politischer Rahmen

Grundlage der Forschungskooperation beider Länder ist ein Regierungsabkommen über die wissenschaftlich-technologische Zusammenarbeit aus dem Jahr 1978. Seitdem werden bei regelmäßig stattfindenden Sitzungen, an denen Vertreter der Forschungsministerien beider Länder, der Forschungs-, Förder- und Mittlerorganisationen sowie einzelne Wissenschaftler teilnehmen, Themen und Rahmenbedingungen der Zusammenarbeit diskutiert.

Im Bildungsbereich fanden seit 2004 regelmäßige Konsultationen mit dem chinesischen Bildungsministerium in Form eines Bildungspolitischen Strategiegesprächs (bis 2009: Hochschulpolitisches Strategiegespräch) statt. Ergänzend wurden seit 2011 regelmäßige Sitzungen der Leitungsgruppe der Deutsch-Chinesischen Allianz für Berufsbildung durchgeführt. Mit einer Gemeinsamen Absichtserklärung wurden im Juni 2016 beide Gremien zur Deutsch-Chinesischen Leitungsgruppe für Bildung zusammengelegt. Diese Leitungsgruppe hat im Dezember 2017 zum ersten Mal getagt.

Eine Vertiefung auch der Forschungs- und Bildungszusammenarbeit erfolgte durch die Einführung der Deutsch-Chinesischen Regierungskonsultationen, die bisher in den Jahren 2011, 2012, 2014, 2016 und zuletzt 2018 stattfanden.

Der gemeinsame Aktionsplan „Innovation gemeinsam gestalten!“, der im Oktober 2014 während der dritten Regierungskonsultationen beschlossen wurde, bekräftigt die strategische Partnerschaft beider Länder auch in den vom BMBF verantworteten Themenfeldern.

Einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Umsetzung der 2014 beschlossenen Innovationspartnerschaft zwischen Deutschland und China leistet die im Oktober 2015 veröffentlichte „China-Strategie des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung 2015-2020“. Diese bildet die Basis für die Zusammenarbeit mit China in Forschung, Wissenschaft und Bildung bis zum Jahr 2020. Ziel der Strategie ist es, den Erfolg und gegenseitigen Gewinn der Kooperationen in Forschung und Bildung sicherzustellen. Dazu analysiert die Strategie das bisher Erreichte und benennt Ziele sowie konkrete Maßnahmen für die weitere Zusammenarbeit. Es handelt sich um die erste und bisher einzige Länderstrategie des BMBF. Die vollständige Strategie sowie eine Kurzfassung stehen auf der Internetseite des BMBF zum Download bereit (siehe in der rechten Spalte unter „Links zum Thema“).

Schwerpunkte in der Zusammenarbeit

Themen der vom BMBF verantworteten bilateralen Zusammenarbeit sind Innovationsforschung, Sauberes Wasser bzw. Umwelttechnologien, Urbanisierung und Landmanagement, Lebenswissenschaften und Bioökonomie, Meeres- und Polarforschung, Klimaforschung, Elektromobilität, Digitale Wirtschaft (Industrie 4.0) sowie Hochschul- und Berufsbildung und der Austausch von Studierenden und Wissenschaftlern.

Außerdem unterstützt das BMBF den Aufbau eines Fachalumninetzwerks und treibt gemeinsam mit dem Auswärtigem Amt und der Kultusministerkonferenz den Ausbau von China-Kompetenz in Deutschland voran.

Ausgewählte Maßnahmen der BMBF China-Strategie

Im Folgenden werden ausgewählte Maßnahmen der BMBF China-Strategie vorgestellt, deren Umsetzung maßgeblich vom Internationalen Büro begleitet wird.

Rolle des Internationalen Büros

Das Internationale Büro verfolgt im Auftrag des BMBF das Ziel, die internationale Vernetzung deutscher Hochschulen, Forschungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen auszubauen, sodass die deutsche Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft Kompetenzen gewinnen und Innovationsvorsprünge erlangen kann. Damit leistet das Internationale Büro einen Beitrag zur Umsetzung der internationalen Dimension in den Fachprogrammen des BMBF und stellt hierfür im Auftrag des BMBF auch Projektförderung bereit. Schwerpunkte der aktuellen Projektförderung mit China, die über das Internationale Büro betreut werden, sind fachorientierte Alumninetzwerke, Konzepte zum Aufbau von China-Kompetenz an Hochschulen sowie anwendungsnahe Projekte mit Industriebeteiligung (sogenannte „2+2“-Projekte) in verschiedenen Themenschwerpunkten und Forschungsprojekte zur Meeres- und Polarforschung.

Um der stetig wachsenden Bedeutung Chinas als Forschungsnation und Kooperationspartner für Deutschland Rechnung zu tragen, steht das Internationale Büro im stetigen Austausch mit den chinesischen Projektträgern und Ministerien. Hierfür wurde am 19. Januar 2016 in Peking ein Memorandum of Understanding zwischen dem DLR Projektträger und seiner chinesischen Partnerorganisation NCSTE (National Center for Science and Technologie Evaluation) unterzeichnet.