Vietnam

Vietnam is the most important partner country of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) in Southeast Asia.

Hoa-Binh-Dam in Vietnam

© Ludwig Kammesheidt / DLR

Funding opportunities

Currently the BMBF call “Bioeconomy International” offers a bilateral modul with Vietnam.

Political framework

Bilateral cooperation between Vietnam and Germany is founded upon an agreement on scientific and technological cooperation, which was signed during the state visit of Vietnamese President Truong Tan Sang on 25 November 2015 in Berlin.

Priorities of the cooperation

Current cooperation focuses on water and environmental technologies, resource efficiency, sustainable urbanisation, bioeconomy, health and biodiversity research.

Water and environmental technologies

Since 2006, a strategic partnership between the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST) has been established in the area of water and environmental technologies. In October 2007, the Vietnamese-German 'Project Office for Water and Environmental Technology' was opened in Hanoi. In 2013 it was renamed and restructured into the 'Vietnamese-German Office for Water and Sustainability'. It is currently being continued as a German project office.

Against the backdrop of the development of both countries, global change and the United Nations 2030 Agenda, a comprehensive perspective on sustainable development is becoming increasingly important for the German-Vietnamese research cooperation. The common goal is to focus research projects on concrete action for sustainable future development. To this end, both sides therefore strive for even closer coordination on joint research priorities and early involvement of all key stakeholders. An inter-ministerial working group on sustainable development (FONA WG) will support the coordination of activities and projects.

In the BMBF call CLIENT II (International partnerships for sustainable innovations) projects in the fields of water management and resource efficiency are funded. Another project, developing strategies to mitigate flooding risk in urban-rural settings, started in mid-2019.

Bioeconomics

Vietnam is one of the prioritised partner countries in the BMBF call 'Bioeconomy International', which has provided funding since 2013. To date, three bilateral funding lines have been published together with the MOST. Currently, seven joint projects are funded.

As part of the 'KMU Innovativ' announcement, a German company and the TU Berlin are working with Vietnamese partners to develop an innovative technology for producing biogas from rice straw, taking into account climate protection and sustainable development in rural areas (2016-2019).

Sustainable urbanisation

Fast-growing cities in emerging and developing countries often lack sound data and methods for effective, growth-oriented infrastructure planning. The aim of the funding measure 'Rapid Planning' is to develop a transsectoral planning methodology in in the areas of energy, water, wastewater, waste and urban agriculture systematically for efficient interlinkages. Two collaborative projects, coordinated by the AT-Verband Stuttgart and the BTU Cottbus, are implemented, among other cities, in Da Nang (duration: 2014-2019).

In 2017, the call 'Sustainable Development of Urban Regions' was published, focussing on Southeast Asian countries and China. After an initial phase, three projects continued with partner institutions in Central-Vietnam in an 18-months definition phase to look at strategies to enhance climate resilience in urban areas (2019-2020).

Three other joint projects are funded in the field of sustainable urbanisation in the frame of a bilateral call between BMBF and MOST (2019-2022). The projects are dealing with innovative mobility concepts, health-oriented transport and urban planning, and the integration photovoltaic plants into urban energy-grids.

Centre for health research

In the APRA call 'Establishment of research presences in the Asian-Pacific region', the project 'Vietnamese-German Centre of Excellence in Clinical Trials' (VG-EXCEL) is funded (2017-2022). In 2016, based on the long lasting cooperation between the Institute of Tropical Medicine at the University of Tuebingen and the Vietnamese partners, the 'Vietnamese- German Centre for Medical Research' (VG-CARE) was established at the 108 Military Hospital in Hanoi. With financial and legal support of two ministries (Science&Technology, Defence), VG-EXCEL aims at building up state-of-the-art infrastructure and capacity in clinical trials within VG-CARE.

In the frame of the bilateral call between the International Departments of BMBF and MOST, another three projects in health research are jointly funded (2019-2022). The projects focus on infectious diseases and the development of innovative pain-killers.

Biodiversity research

Biodiversity research is a new area of collaboration. The project 'Innovative Methods to Biodiversity Exploration and Monitoring: Capacity Building with Partner Countries in Southeast Asia' (VIETBIO) will lay the foundation for a long-term cooperation in biodiversity research with Vietnam and beyond (2017-2020). VIETBIO is led by Museum für Naturkunde in Berlin together with the Botanical Garden in Dahlem. Partner institutions in Vietnam are the Vietnam National Museum of Nature (VNMN) and the Institute of Ecology and Biological Resources (IEBR) in Hanoi, and the Southern Institute of Ecology (SIE) and the Institute of Tropical Biology (ITB) in Ho Chi Minh City.

The projects sets up an integrated biodiversity exploration and monitoring system for Vietnam, by providing state-of-the-art technical equipment and capacity building for young staff of partner institutes. Thus, VIETBIO contributes to the build-up process of competence on biodiversity research in Vietnam to foster an innovative and sustainable use of the rich flora and fauna of the partner country.

Vietnamese-German University (VGU)

A comprehensive realignment of Vietnamese higher education policy is set to take place with the help of international support. The Vietnamese-German University (VGU) in Ho Chi Minh City is Vietnam's first state university with international stakeholders. The goal of the Vietnamese government is to establish a new model university which can be used as a template for the entire higher education system. The VGU (an initiative of Hessia) was officially launched on 10 September 2008.

With its 37 member universities and institutions (including the TU9 network), the consortium VGU founded on 17 February 2009 is the academic backbone of the VGU. Permanent guest members on the executive board are the DAAD, the BMBF and the Hessian Ministry of Science and Arts (HMWK).

The university's English-language courses are to be taught in an interim building on the campus of the Eastern International University in Binh Duong until the new campus building is ready. The VGU's own campus will be built in the next years located close to the current interim campus in the Binh Duong region. The building is being financed by the World Bank, which is providing funding in the region of 180 million US dollars.

There are currently 11 study programmes in cooperation with German partner universities (five MSc., One MBA, four BSc. And one BEng. Each with Foundation Year). The programmes focus on engineering and economics.

During the 2017/2018 winter semester, 1.347 students were enrolled at the VGU, most of them in BSc-programmes. Capacity is expected to be increased to 12,000 students in three stages by 2030.

The role of the International Bureau

On behalf of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), the International Bureau supports the goal of expanding the international network of German universities, research institutions and companies, in order to facilitate the acquisition of expertise and innovative advantages for German science and industry. Thus, the International Bureau contributes to the implementation of the international dimension in the specialist programmes of the BMBF.

Vietnam

Vietnam ist mittlerweile das wichtigste Partnerland des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung in Südostasien.

Hoa-Binh-Staudamm in Vietnam

© Ludwig Kammesheidt / DLR

Fördermöglichkeiten

Aktuell ist im Rahmen der Bekanntmachung „Bioökonomie International“ ein bilaterales Modul mit Vietnam zur Skizzeneinreichung geöffnet:

www.bioeconomy-international.de

Politischer Rahmen

Grundlage der bilateralen Kooperation zwischen Vietnam und Deutschland ist ein Abkommen zur wissenschaftlich-technologischen Zusammenarbeit, das anlässlich des Staatsbesuchs des vietnamesischen Präsidenten Truong Tan Sang am 25. November 2015 in Berlin unterzeichnet wurde.

Schwerpunkte der Kooperation

Aktuelle Kooperationsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen Wasser- und Umwelttechnologien, Rohstoffeffizienz, nachhaltige Urbanisierung, Bioökonomie, Gesundheitsforschung und Biodiversität.

Wasser- und Umwelttechnologien

Im Bereich Wasser- und Umwelttechnologien besteht seit 2006 eine strategische Partnerschaft zwischen dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und dem Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST). Im Oktober 2007 wurde ein vietnamesisch-deutsches „Projektbüro Wasser- und Umwelttechnologie“ in Hanoi eröffnet; 2013 wurde es in „Vietnamesisch-deutsches Büro für Wasser und Nachhaltigkeit“ umbenannt und neu strukturiert, zurzeit wird es als deutsches Projektbüro für Nachhaltigkeitsforschung weitergeführt.

Vor dem Hintergrund der Entwicklung beider Länder, des globalen Wandels und der Agenda 2030 der Vereinten Nationen gewinnt die umfassende Perspektive einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung auch bei der deutsch-vietnamesischen Forschungskooperation zunehmend an Bedeutung. Gemeinsames Ziel ist es, Forschungsprojekte auf konkrete Handlungsoptionen für eine nachhaltige zukünftige Entwicklung auszurichten. Beide Seiten streben daher eine noch engere Abstimmung über gemeinsame Forschungsschwerpunkte und eine frühzeitige Einbindung aller wichtigen Stakeholder an. Eine interministerielle Arbeitsgruppe im Bereich der nachhaltigen Entwicklung (FONA WG) soll die Abstimmung über Aktivitäten und Projekte unterstützen.

In der Fördermaßnahme CLIENT II (Internationale Partnerschaften für nachhaltige Innovationen) werden derzeit Vorhaben in den Bereichen Wassermanagement (7), Ressourceneffizienz (1) gefördert. Ein weiteres Vorhaben, das Strategien zur Minderung des Hochwasserrisikos in sich wandelnden Stadt-Land Systemen entwickelt, startete Mitte 2019.

Bioökonomie

Vietnam ist eines der priorisierten Partnerländer in der BMBF-Bekanntmachung „Bioökonomie International“, die seit 2013 regelmäßig ausgeschrieben wird. Mittlerweile ist die 3. bilaterale Förderlinie mit dem MOST veröffentlicht worden. Aktuell werden sieben gemeinsame Vorhaben gefördert.

Im Rahmen der Bekanntmachung „KMU Innovativ“ entwickelt ein deutsches Unternehmen und die TU Berlin gemeinsam mit vietnamesischen Partnern ein innovatives Verfahren zur Biogasherstellung aus Reisstroh unter Berücksichtigung von Klimaschutz und einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung im ländlichen Raum (Laufzeit: 2016-2019).

Nachhaltige Urbanisierung

In schnell wachsenden Städten in Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern fehlt es meist an Daten und Methoden für eine effektive, auf das Wachstum ausgerichtete Infrastrukturplanung. Die Fördermaßnahme „Rapid Planning“ hat das Ziel, eine transsektorale Planungsmethodik zu entwickeln, in denen die Sektoren Energie, Wasser, Abwasser, Abfall und urbane Landwirtschaft systemisch ineinandergreifen. Zwei Verbundvorhaben, koordiniert vom AT-Verband Stuttgart und der BTU Cottbus, werden in diesem Rahmen am Beispiel Da Nang durchgeführt (Laufzeit 2014-2019).

Im Februar 2017 wurde eine Bekanntmachung zur „Nachhaltigen Entwicklung urbaner Regionen“ veröffentlicht, Zielländer sind die ASEAN-Staaten und China. Nach einer Anbahnungsphase werden nun ab Mitte 2019 drei Vorhaben mit Partnern in Zentralvietnam in einer 18-monatigen Definitionsphase gefördert. Thematischer Fokus ist dabei die Erhöhung der Klimaresilienz urbaner Räume.

In einer bilateralen Bekanntmachung zwischen den internationalen Abteilungen von BMBF und MOST werden drei weitere Vorhaben im Bereich der nachhaltigen Stadtentwicklung gefördert (Laufzeit 2019 – 2022), dabei stehen zukunftsorientierte Mobilitätskonzepte, gesundheitsorientierte Verkehrs- und Stadtplanung sowie die Integration von Photovoltaik-Anlagen in die städtischen Energiesysteme im Mittelpunkt der gemeinsamen Forschung.

Forschungspräsenz in der Gesundheitsforschung

Im Rahmen der APRA-Bekanntmachung „Aufbau von Forschungspräsenzen im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum“ (2016) wird das Vorhaben „Vietnamesisch - Deutsches Exzellenzzentrum für klinische Studien“ (VG-EXEL) gefördert (Laufzeit 2017 – 2022). Basierend auf der langjährigen Kooperation zwischen dem Institut für Tropenmedizin der Eberhard Karls Universität in Tübingen (ITM-EKUT) und vietnamesischen Partner wurde 2016 das „Vietnamesisch - Deutsche Zentrum für medizinische Forschung (VG-CARE) im 108 Military Central Hospital, Hanoi eingerichtet. Ziel von VG-EXCEL ist der Ausbau und die Stärkung der Kapazitäten der existierenden VG-CARE-Einheit sowie die Präsenz und Sichtbarkeit von deutschen Forschungsorganisationen in Vietnam durch die Einrichtung eines klinischen Studienzentrums mit moderner diagnostischer und wissenschaftlicher Ausrüstung. Der weitere Ausbau des Zentrums wird von mehreren vietnamesischen Ministerien (Wissenschaft, Verteidigung und Gesundheit) unterstützt und ko-finanziert.

Im Rahmen einer bilateralen Bekanntmachung (siehe oben) werden ebenfalls drei Vorhaben im Bereich der Gesundheitsforschung gefördert (Laufzeit 2019 – 2022). Schwerpunktthemen sind Infektionskrankheiten und die Entwicklung von neuartigen Schmerzmitteln.

Biodiversitätsforschung

Die Biodiversitätsforschung ist ein neues Kooperationsfeld in der bilateralen Zusammenarbeit. Das Vorhaben „Innovative Methoden der Biodiversitätserfassung: Kapazitätsentwicklung mit Partnerländern in Südostasien am Beispiel Vietnams“ (VIETBIO) möchte die Grundlage für zukünftige gemeinsame Forschung im bi- und multilateralen Kontext legen (Laufzeit 2017 – 2020) VIETBIO wird vom Museum für Naturkunde in Berlin in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Botanischen Garten Dahlem koordiniert. Auf Partnerseite sind das Vietnam National Museum of Nature (VNMN) und das Institute of Ecology and Biological Resources (IEBR) in Hanoi sowie das Southern Institute of Ecology (SIE) und das Institute of Tropical Biology (ITB) in Ho Chi Minh Stadt beteiligt.

Ziel von VIETBIO ist der Aufbau und die Übergabe eines integrierten Biodiversitätsentdeckungs- und –monitoringsystems, für das in enger Abstimmung mit den vietnamesischen Partnern von deutscher Seite moderne Ausstattung und spezifische Fachkenntnisse bereitgestellt und vermittelt werden. VIETBIO wird über den Aufbau national vernetzter Kapazitäten eine wesentliche Stärkung von Forschungskompetenzen zum Erhalt und für eine innovative und nachhaltige Nutzung von Biodiversität in Vietnam selbst wie darüber hinaus für die Region Indochina leisten.

Vietnamese-German University (VGU)

Eine umfassende Neuorientierung des vietnamesischen Hochschulwesens soll mit internationaler Unterstützung stattfinden. Die Vietnamese-German University (VGU) in Ho Chi Minh Stadt ist die erste staatliche Hochschule mit ausländischer Beteiligung. Ziel der vietnamesischen Regierung ist es, eine forschungsbasierte Modellhochschule (New Model University) aufzubauen, deren Vorbild auf das gesamte System übertragen werden kann. Die VGU (eine Initiative Hessens) wurde am 10. September 2008 eröffnet.

Der am 17. Februar 2009 gegründete Konsortialverein VGU e.V. stellt mit seinen 37 Mitgliedshochschulen und -institutionen (darunter auch der TU9-Verbund) das akademische Rückgrat der VGU dar. Ständige Gäste im Vorstand sind DAAD, BMBF und das Hessische Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst (HMWK).

Die englischsprachigen Lehrveranstaltungen finden bis zum Campusneubau in einem Übergangsgebäude auf dem Campus der Eastern International University in Binh Duong statt. Der VGU eigene Campus wird unweit des jetzigen Übergangscampus in der Region Binh Duong in den kommenden Jahren errichtet. Finanziert wird der Bau aus Mitteln der Weltbank in Höhe von 180 Mio. US-Dollar.

Angeboten werden derzeit elf Studienprogramme in Kooperation mit deutschen Partnerhochschulen (fünf MSc., ein MBA, vier BSc. und ein BEng. jeweils mit Foundation Year). Der Schwerpunkt der Programme liegt im Bereich Ingenieur- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften.

Zum Wintersemester 2018/19 waren 1.347 Studierende, die meisten in BSc-Programmen an der VGU eingeschrieben. Die Kapazität soll in drei Stufen bis 2030 auf 12.000 Studierende ausgebaut werden.

Rolle des Internationalen Büros

Das Internationale Büro unterstützt im Auftrag des BMBF das Ziel, die internationale Vernetzung deutscher Hochschulen, Forschungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen auszubauen, um Kompetenzgewinne und Innovationsvorsprünge für die deutsche Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft zu ermöglichen. Damit leistet das Internationale Büro einen Beitrag zur Umsetzung der internationalen Dimension in den Fachprogrammen des BMBF.