Japan

Japan is one of the economically strongest and most technologically advanced countries in the world. Japanese basic research is regularly awarded Nobel Prizes. In addition, companies are extremely generous in financing applied research and development. The basis of the bilateral research cooperation between Japan and Germany is an intergovernmental agreement from 1974. German research and intermediary organisations also actively support the cooperation.

Fuji with factory

© Torsakarin / iStock / Thinkstock

Funding opportunities

For up-to-date information please vist our web page 'Current Announcements'.

Please get in touch if you have any questions about the support services provided by the International Bureau.

News

BMBF to fund three research projects coordinated by Germany and Japan within the framework of the “German – Japanese Academia-Industry International Collaboration Program on Optics and Photonics (2+2)”

The Federal Ministry of Education and Research of the Federal Republic of Germany (BMBF) will fund three collaborative research projects in cooperation with the JST on the topic of “Optics and Photonics”.

The selected projects are as follows:

  • “Efficient Silicon Photonic Devices Using Advanced Electro-Optic Polymers”
    Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Vanguard Automation GmbH, Kyushu University, Nissan Chemical Industries, Ltd.
  • “Real-Time Fusion of Projection and Sensing by High-Speed Multispectral Units for Dynamic Interaction”
    Fraunhofer Institute, ViALUX GmbH, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo Electron Device LTD.
  • “Development of Hyper-Resolution X-Ray Phase Imaging”
    Karlsruhe Institute of Technology KIT), microworks GmbH, Tohoku University, Hamamatsu Photonics K.K.

A total of 35 proposals were submitted in response to the joint call for proposals implemented by BMBF and JST. Based on the results of evaluation conducted by experts, JST and BMBF including the program officer and advisors jointly decided on the three projects for funding. Support to the projects will continue for about three years (2018-2020).

Political framework

The basis of bilateral cooperation in the field of research between Japan and Germany is an intergovernmental agreement on cooperation in the field of science and technology of 8 October 1974 (BGBl. 1974 II 1326). According to this STC agreement, the focal points of bilateral cooperation are as follows:

  • Marine research and technology,
  • Life sciences (biological and medical research and technology),
  • Environment (research and development of new environmental technologies).

The BMBF cooperates with the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT). Subordinated to the MEXT is the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST), a funding organisation, which is responsible for most of the scientific and technological cooperation areas and their practical implementation.

At regular intervals, representatives of both ministries as well as of research, funding and intermediary organisations participate in STC committee meetings. The last session of the German-Japanese Commission took place on 30th November / 1st December 2016 in Bonn. The next meeting is scheduled for the first quarter of 2019 in Tokyo.

On the basis of the STC agreement, not only the ministries of both nations cooperate with each other. German research and intermediary organisations are also very active in the cooperation with Japan.

Since 2001, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft has maintained a Fraunhofer Representative Office in Japan to support the establishment of strategic partnerships with excellent research facilities and the promotion of local scholarship.

Since April 2009, the DFG has been represented as an intermediary organisation with an office in Tokyo. It works closely with the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) and the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST).

The German Aerospace Center (DLR) also sees great potential for cooperation with Japanese research institutions and has maintained an office in Tokyo since the end of February 2013.

The Max Planck Society (MPG) currently has three Max Planck Centers in the Tokyo area, the Max Planck-RIKEN Center for Systems Chemical Biology, the Max Planck - The University of Tokyo Center for Integrative Inflammology and the Max Planck-UBC-UTokyo Center for Quantum Materials.

At the multilateral level, since 2004, the Science and Technology in Society Forum has been held in Kyoto annually. The Forum, which brings together leading academics, high level policy makers and industry representatives, provides a framework for open discussion on the progress of science and technology facing global challenges.

Cooperation priorities

Through its international department, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) provides funds for networking activities, structural measures, research projects and 2 + 2 projects. In September 2017, the BMBF, in cooperation with the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST), launched a 2 + 2 funding announcement on optics and photonics, which now supports 3 projects (see above). Further focal points of the cooperation are "autonomous and networked driving" and "battery technology".

In the framework of the BMBF funding measure "Internationalisation of Leading-Edge Clusters, Future Projects and Comparable Networks", three clusters were selected in the first round of  competition in 2015, two clusters / comparable networks in the second round of competition in 2016 and one cluster in the third round of competition in 2017 cooperate. Japan is showing great interest in the internationalisation of clusters. The measure will support the development of internationalisation concepts and their implementation in RDI projects on equal terms with global partners, each with up to four million euros over up to five years. The following selected clusters and comparable networks focus on Japan as a destination for their internationalisation efforts:

  • Cluster Power Electronics in ECPE e.V. Nuremberg (with the regions Tokyo and Osaka)
  • Cluster OptoNet Jena (with the region Hamamatsu)
  • Cluster Organic Electronics Saxony Dresden (with the region Yonezawa / Yamagata)
  • Sports Innovation Network Munich (SINN) (with the Tokyo region)
  • Leading Cluster Munich Biotech Cluster (with the regions Kansai and Osaka)
  • Cluster CFK Valley Stade (with the regions Ishikawa and Fukui)

As part of the Junior Experts Exchange Program, every year since 1998, up to eight young German and Japanese scientists from research institutes and research departments have been invited by companies to take part in a ten-day study tour to Japan or Germany. The programme was launched in Germany in 2011 with funding from the BMBF and the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology (BMWi). Since 2012 funds have been excusively provided by the BMBF. From the Japanese side, the programme is funded by the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA).

The programme aims to establish contacts between researchers from both countries and to support the formation of networks between German and Japanese centers of excellence. Outstanding junior researchers are being offered an opportunity for interdisciplinary exchange in order to intensify the Japanese-German science dialogue.

Initiated by the AHK in 2008, the German Innovation Award has been given annually to young scientists from Japan by twelve technology-oriented German companies and the German Chamber of Industry and Commerce in Japan (DIHKJ) under the patronage of the German Research Minister. The prize is intended to promote long-term networks and partnerships with Japanese research institutes and universities. German companies expect a more intensive exchange with Japanese science and an intensified cooperation in the field of research and development.

Young scientists and engineers are honored for their outstanding achievements in applied research in the fields of environmental protection, energy, safety, health, automotive, materials and production technologies. In addition to the prize money (2.5 million yen, equivalent to approximately 19,000 euros), the four award winners also receive scholarships from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and the German Research Foundation (DFG) for a research stay in Germany of up to two months.

Japan

Japan gehört zu den wirtschaftlich stärksten und technologisch fortschrittlichsten Ländern der Welt. Die japanische Grundlagenforschung wird regelmäßig mit Nobelpreisen ausgezeichnet. Unternehmen zeigen sich extrem großzügig bei der Finanzierung von angewandter Forschung und Entwicklung. Grundlage der bilateralen Forschungskooperation zwischen Japan und Deutschland ist ein Regierungsabkommen von 1974. Auch die deutschen Forschungs- und Mittlerorganisationen unterstützen die  Zusammenarbeit aktiv.

Japan - Fuji mit Fabrik

© Torsakarin / iStock / Thinkstock

Fördermöglichkeiten

Aktuelle Bekanntmachung: Richtlinie zur Förderung von Vorhaben der strategischen Projektförderung mit Japan unter der Beteiligung von Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft in den Bereichen Optik und Photonik. Stichtag: 25. September 2019.

Sprechen Sie uns an, wenn Sie Fragen zu Unterstützungsleistungen des Internationalen Büros haben.

Aktuelles

BMBF fördert drei von Deutschland und Japan koordinierte 2 + 2-Projekte im Rahmen des "Deutsch-Japanischen Akademie-Industrie-Kooperationsprogramms Optik und Photonik "

Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland (BMBF) fördert gemeinsam mit der japanischen Förderorganisation JST drei Verbundforschungsprojekte zum Thema "Optik und Photonik".

Die ausgewählten Projekte sind wie folgt:

  • “Efficient Silicon Photonic Devices Using Advanced Electro-Optic Polymers”
    Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Vanguard Automation GmbH, Kyushu University, Nissan Chemical Industries, Ltd.
  • “Real-Time Fusion of Projection and Sensing by High-Speed Multispectral Units for Dynamic Interaction”
    Fraunhofer Institute, ViALUX GmbH, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo Electron Device LTD.
  • “Development of Hyper-Resolution X-Ray Phase Imaging”
    Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), microworks GmbH, Tohoku University, Hamamatsu Photonics K.K.

Im Rahmen der gemeinsamen Bekanntmachung von BMBF und JST wurden insgesamt 35 Projektskizzen eingereicht. Auf der Grundlage der von Experten durchgeführten Evaluierung haben JST und BMBF gemeinsam diese drei Förderprojekte beschlossen. Jedes Projekt wird mit einem Gesamtvolumen von 200.000 Euro über 3 Jahre (2018-2020) gefördert.

Politischer Rahmen

Grundlage der bilateralen Kooperation im Forschungsbereich zwischen Japan und Deutschland ist ein Regierungsabkommen über die Zusammenarbeit auf wissenschaftlich-technologischem Gebiet vom 8. Oktober 1974 (BGBl. 1974 II 1326). Erklärte Schwerpunkte der bilateralen Zusammenarbeit sind gemäß des WTZ-Abkommens die Themenbereiche:

  • Meeresforschung und -technologie,
  • Lebenswissenschaften (biologische und medizinische Forschung und Technologie),
  • Umwelt (Erforschung und Entwicklung neuer Umweltschutz-Technologien).

Das BMBF kooperiert hier mit dem Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT). Dem MEXT ist die Förderorganisation Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST) untergeordnet, die für die meisten wissenschaftlich-technologischen Bereiche und die praktische Kooperation zuständig ist.

In regelmäßigen Abständen finden WTZ-Kommissionssitzungen unter Teilnahme von Vertretern beider Ministerien sowie von Forschungs-, Förder- und Mittlerorganisationen statt. Die letzte Sitzung der deutsch-japanischen Kommission fand am 30.November/1.Dezember 2016 in Bonn statt. Die nächste Sitzung ist für das 1. Quartal 2019 in Tokyo geplant.

Auf Basis des WTZ-Abkommens kooperieren nicht nur die Ministerien beider Nationen miteinander. Auch die deutschen Forschungs- und Mittlerorganisationen sind sehr aktiv in der Zusammenarbeit mit Japan.

Die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft unterhält seit 2001 ein Fraunhofer Representative Office Japan, um den Aufbau von strategischen Partnerschaften mit exzellenten Forschungseinrichtungen und die Förderung des Wissenschaftleraustauschs vor Ort zu unterstützen.

Seit April 2009 ist die DFG als Mittlerorganisation mit einem Büro in Tokyo vertreten und arbeitet eng mit der Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) und der Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST) zusammen.

Auch das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) sieht ein großes Kooperationspotenzial mit japanischen Forschungseinrichtungen und unterhält seit Ende Februar 2013 ein Büro in Tokyo.

Die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (MPG) hat derzeit drei Max Planck Center im Raum Tokyo, das Max Planck-RIKEN Center for Systems Chemical Biology, das Max Planck – The University of Tokyo Center for Integrative Inflammology und das Max Planck - UBC - UTokyo Centre for Quantum Materials.

Auf multilateraler Ebene findet seit 2004 jährlich das Science and Technology in Society Forum in Kyoto statt. Das Forum, an dem führende Wissenschaftler, hochrangige politische Entscheidungsträger und Industrievertreter teilnehmen, ermöglicht einen Rahmen für offene Diskussionen zum Fortschritt der Wissenschaft und Technologie im Hinblick auf globale Herausforderungen.

Schwerpunkte der Kooperation

Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) stellt über seine internationale Abteilung Mittel für Vernetzungsaktivitäten, Strukturmaßnahmen, Forschungsprojekte und 2+2-Projekte bereit. Im September 2017 führte das BMBF gemeinsam mit der Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST) eine 2+2 Förderbekanntmachung zum Thema „Optik und Photonik“ durch, durch die nun 3 Projekte gefördert werden (siehe oben). Weitere Schwerpunkte der Zusammenarbeit sind „Autonomes und vernetztes Fahren“ und „Batterietechnologie“.

In der BMBF-Fördermaßnahme „Internationalisierung von Spitzenclustern, Zukunftsprojekten und vergleichbaren Netzwerken“ wurden in der 1. Wettbewerbsrunde 2015 drei Cluster, in der 2. Wettbewerbsrunde 2016 zwei Cluster/vergleichbare Netzwerke und in der 3. Wettbewerbsrunde 2017 ein Cluster ausgewählt, welche mit Japan kooperieren. Japan zeigt großes Interesse an der Internationalisierung von Clustern. Mit der Maßnahme wird die Entwicklung von Internationalisierungskonzepten und deren Umsetzung in FuEuI-Projekten auf Augenhöhe mit weltweiten Partnern mit jeweils bis zu vier Millionen Euro über bis zu fünf Jahre unterstützt. Folgende ausgewählte Cluster und vergleichbare Netzwerke haben Japan als Zielland für ihre Internationalisierung:

  • Cluster Leistungselektronik im ECPE e.V. Nürnberg (mit den Regionen Tokyo und Osaka)
  • Cluster OptoNet Jena (mit der Region Hamamatsu)
  • Cluster Organic Electronics Saxony Dresden (mit der Region Yonezawa/Yamagata)
  • Sport‐Innovations‐Netzwerk München (SINN) (mit der Region Tokyo)
  • Spitzencluster Münchner Biotech Cluster (mit den Regionen Kansai und Osaka)
  • Cluster CFK Valley Stade (mit den Regionen Ishikawa und Fukui)

Im Rahmen des Junior Experts Exchange Program werden seit 1998 jedes Jahr bis zu acht junge deutsche bzw. japanische Naturwissenschaftler aus Forschungsinstituten und Forschungsabteilungen von Unternehmen zu einer zehntägigen Studientour nach Japan bzw. Deutschland eingeladen. Finanziert wurde das Programm in Deutschland bis 2011 mit Mitteln des BMBF und des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Technologie (BMWi), seit 2012 ausschließlich mit Mitteln des BMBF. Von japanischer Seite wird das Programm mit Mitteln des japanischen Außenministeriums (MOFA) finanziert.

Das Programm zielt darauf ab, Kontakte zwischen Forschern beider Länder herzustellen und die Bildung von Netzwerken zwischen deutschen und japanischen Kompetenzzentren zu unterstützen. Herausragenden Nachwuchswissenschaftlern soll eine Gelegenheit für interdisziplinären Austausch geboten werden, um so den japanisch-deutschen Wissenschaftsdialog zu intensivieren.

2008 von der AHK initiiert, wird der German Innovation Award seit 2010 jährlich von zwölf technologieorientierten deutschen Unternehmen und der Deutschen Industrie- und Handelskammer in Japan (DIHKJ) unter der Schirmherrschaft der deutschen Forschungsministerin an japanische Nachwuchswissenschaftler verliehen. Durch den Preis sollen langfristig Netzwerke und Partnerschaften mit japanischen Forschungsinstituten und Hochschulen gefördert werden. Die deutschen Unternehmen versprechen sich davon einen intensiveren Austausch mit der japanischen Wissenschaft und eine verstärkte Zusammenarbeit auf dem Gebiet der Forschung und Entwicklung.

Junge Natur- und Ingenieurswissenschaftler werden für herausragende Leistungen in der anwendungsorientierten Forschung in den Bereichen Umweltschutz, Energie, Sicherheit, Gesundheit, Automobil, Materialien und Produktionstechnologien ausgezeichnet. Neben einem Preisgeld (2,5 Mio. Yen, entspricht ca. 19.000 Euro) erhalten die vier Preisträger Stipendien des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD) und der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) für einen bis zu zweimonatigen Forschungsaufenthalt in Deutschland.