Iran

After the long-term sanctions against Iran were lifted by the European Union in 2015, the revitalisation and intensification of cooperation in the areas of education and research became the focus of mutual interest. German-Iranian research cooperation is based on a centuries long tradition.

Theran in winter

Tehran in winter © Alexander / Fotolia

Funding the cooperation

The Federal Ministry of Education and Research supports the cooperation of German institutions with Iranian partners with a variety of funding measures.

Please get in touch, if you have any questions about the support services provided by the International Bureau.

Mutually recognised to date, the German – Iranian agreement on cooperation in science and technology came into effect in 1977. The differentiated research landscape of Iran with its highly qualified scientists competes favourably in international competition. At the same time, the Iranian side understands Germany as one of the world's most important scientific partners and Germany's universities and research institutions enjoy a high reputation in Iran.

Political framework

Bilateral cooperation in science and technology is based on a bilateral cooperation agreement in scientific research and technological development dated 21 November 1977. In recent years, the principles of cooperation laid out in the agreement have been specified in a number of 'Declarations of Intent' between the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and various Iranian partner ministries. In 2016, the BMBF and the Iranian Ministry of Science, Research and Technology (MSRT) signed letters of intent on cooperation in science and research as well as in vocational training. A declaration of intent on cooperation in the fields of water, wastewater and energy efficiency was signed with the Iranian Ministry of Energy (MoE) in 2017. Also in 2017, a declaration of intent on cooperation in medical education and research was signed with the Ministry of Health and Medical Research (MoHME).

Highlights of bilateral cooperation

The agreement and the declarations of intent are being implemented through reciprocal delegation trips, joint events in various formats and, last but not least, through funding announcements to support German-Iranian research cooperation.

The highlight of 2016 and the initial spark for the resumption of cooperative relationships in science and research was the trip of a high-ranking delegation to Iran in autumn, which was headed by State Secretary Schütte. This had been preceded by a preparatory trip to Iran by the heads of departments.

The first highlight of 2017 was the resumption of regular German-Iranian STC talks through the meeting in Bonn in May 2017. This first meeting was all about reviving and intensifying the German-Iranian partnership. To support the developing cooperation, various measures were introduced, including the development of joint vocational training programmes, intended to maintain direct exchange and to promote bilateral mobility. In September 2017 iMOVE opened its third international contact point with an office in Tehran (after Delhi and Shanghai) to support German education providers in entering the Iranian market in Iran and to direct the demand for German education products and services from Iran to Germany.

The highlight of 2018 was the Day of German Science in Tehran and Isfahan. The aim of the event was to bring Iranian scientists closer to the German research infrastructure and to initiate new bilateral research projects. Under the leadership of the BMBF, German research and intermediary organisations, universities and colleges were represented with 58 participants. The Day of German Sciences thus represented one of the largest delegations ever led by the BMBF. This impressive testimony to the broad interest of the German research landscape in cooperation with Iran was mirrored by the Iranian hosts: Around 550 Iranians took part in the event, representing a cross-section of the Iranian research landscape.

Another highlight was the joint BMBF and DFG info tour to Iran in September 2018. Among the German participants were the Volkswagen Foundation, DAAD, and DLR-PT. On the Iranian side the MSRT, the MoHME and the Iranian National Science Foundation (INSF ) took part in this series of events. In order to deepen German-Iranian relations in science and research, the tour provided information about opportunities for German-Iranian research cooperation and shed a light on the highly differentiated scope of German and Iranian research funding. The info tour covered Tehran University, Yazd University, Ferdowsi University Mashhad, and the University of Guilan (formerly German-Iranian University).

In May 2019, the BMBF organised a multi-day workshop for selected participants from the Ministry of Science, the Ministry of Energy and Water MoE, and the NRI Research Institute assigned to the MoE. The aim of the workshop was to convey contemporary forms of research management.

The Iranian Science Day in Germany, scheduled for early December 2019, had to be postponed in view of current incidents in the country. In this context, the BMBF refers to the statement by the Federal Foreign Office on the current situation in Iran. Due to the current epidemiological situation in connection with the Corona Virus and the associated restrictions, the rescheduling of the event is currently still pending. A new date will be published in due time. Nevertheless, science remains one of the areas of bilateral cooperation with Iran that are considered suitable and eligible for funding. This remains unchanged..

Priority areas of cooperation

The research cooperation with Iran is governed by the thematic strategy of the BMBF and by the letters of intent signed with the Iranian partner ministries. The research focus is on environmental issues, risks and natural disasters, sustainable energy systems, biodiversity and the bioeconomy, as well as on health issues.

In December 2018, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) published the first joint German-Iranian funding announcement for bilateral funding of project-related mobility. The projects selected for funding on the Iranian side are funded by the MSRT or the MoHME depending on the thematic focus. The respective project management agencies are entrusted with the implementation of the projects on both the German and Iranian sides. In Germany this is the DLR-PT, in Iran it is the Center for International Scientific Cooperation (CISC) for the MSRT and the National Institute for Health Research (NIMAD) for the MoHME. A total of 26 bilateral project proposals from the fields of environmental, biodiversity, bioeconomy and health research were selected for funding.

Successful projects

An important thematic focus of German-Iranian cooperation is in the area of ​​risk and disaster research. In addition to natural disasters, epidemiological risks are also considered. In line with this focus, the INCREASE-HEALTH-CORONA project was launched in April 2020. The project aims to carry out real-time analyses of national and international measures to combat COVID-19. Taking into account a copmrehensive set of benchmarks as well as the complex associated risks and vulnerabilities (economic, social, cultural), practices to combat the epidemic are analysed comprehensively and taking into account a variety of measures. Best practices will be identified and applied in Iran in a way that is sensitive to its cultural and economic environment, taking into account economic, social and cultural consequences and offering support for decision making.

The BMBF is also funding the project 'Integrated Water Resources Management in Iran'. The Federal Ministry is thus contributing to the development of sustainable water management in the catchment area of ​​Zayandeh Rud in central Iran, which is badly affected by water shortages. Since 2010, a German-Iranian consortium consisting of scientists, companies and government institutions has been developing and implementing measures to make water use along the river more sustainable and to build a German-Iranian training centre for the water sector.

Iran

Nach Aufhebung der langjährigen Sanktionen gegen den Iran durch die Europäische Union im Jahr 2015 stehen die Wiederbelebung und Intensivierung der Zusammenarbeit in den Bereichen Bildung und Forschung im Mittelpunkt des gegenseitigen Interesses. Die deutsch-iranische Forschungskooperation basiert auf einer Jahrhunderte zurückreichenden Tradition.

Theran in winter

Teheran im Winter © Alexander / Fotolia

Förderung der Zusammenarbeit

Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung unterstützt die Zusammenarbeit deutscher Einrichtungen mit iranischen Partnern durch verschiedene Fördermaßnahmen.

Sprechen Sie uns an, wenn Sie weitere Fragen zu Unterstützungsleistungen des Internationalen Büros haben.

Seit 1977 besteht ein beidseitig anerkanntes Abkommen zur Kooperation in Wissenschaft und Technologie. Die inhaltliche Grundlage der Zusammenarbeit ist die ausdifferenzierte Forschungslandschaft des Iran mit – auch im internationalen Vergleich – hochqualifizierten Wissenschaftlern. Zugleich wird Deutschland von iranischer Seite als einer der weltweit wichtigsten Wissenschaftspartner gesehen und genießen die deutschen Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen im Iran großes Ansehen.

Politischer Rahmen

Die bilaterale Zusammenarbeit in Wissenschaft und Technologie basiert auf dem Abkommen zwischen Deutschland und Iran über die Zusammenarbeit auf dem Gebiet der wissenschaftlichen Forschung und technologischen Entwicklung vom 21. November 1977. Die in dem Abkommen formulierten Grundsätze der Kooperation wurden in den vergangenen Jahren durch eine ganze Reihe von "Declarations of Intent" zwischen dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und verschiedenen iranischen Partnerministerien konkretisier. So unterzeichneten das BMBF und das iranische Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Technologie (MSRT) im Jahr 2016 Absichtserklärungen zur Zusammenarbeit in Wissenschaft und Forschung sowie in beruflicher Bildung. Mit dem iranischen Ministerium für Energie (MoE) wurde im Jahr 2017 eine Absichtserklärung zur Kooperation in den Bereichen Wasser, Abwasser und Energieeffizienz unterzeichnet. Ebenfalls im Jahr 2017 wurde mit dem Ministerium für Gesundheit und medizinische Forschung (MoHME) eine Absichtserklärung zur Kooperation in medizinischer Ausbildung und Forschung unterzeichnet.

Höhepunkte der bilateralen Kooperation

Durch wechselseitige Delegationsreisen, gemeinsame Veranstaltungen verschiedener Formate und nicht zuletzt durch Förderbekanntmachungen zur Unterstützung der deutsch-iranischen Forschungszusammenarbeit werden das Abkommen und die Absichtserklärungen ausgestaltet und umgesetzt.

Höhepunkt des Jahres 2016 und zugleich Initialzündung zur Wiederaufnahme kooperativer Beziehungen in Wissenschaft und Forschung war die im Herbst des Jahres durchgeführte, hochkarätig besetzte Delegationsreise nach Iran unter Leitung von Staatssekretär Schütte. Vorangegangen war eine vorbereitende Abteilungsleiterreise nach Iran.

Höhepunkte des Jahres 2017 waren die im Mai 2017 wieder aufgenommenen regelmäßigen Deutsch-Iranischen WTZ-Gespräche. Die erste Sitzung in Bonn stand ganz im Zeichen der Wiederbelebung und Intensivierung der deutsch-iranischer Partnerschaft. Zur Unterstützung der sich entwickelnden Kooperation wurden verschiedene Maßnahmen etwa zur Entwicklung der gemeinsamen Berufsausbildungsprogramme, zur Pflege des direkten Austausches oder zur Förderung der bilateralen Mobilität beschlossen. Im September 2017 eröffnete iMOVE mit dem Büro in Teheran die nach Delhi und Shanghai dritte internationale Kontaktstelle zur Unterstützung deutscher Bildungsanbieter beim Markteintritt in Iran und zur Lenkung der Nachfrage nach deutschen Bildungsprodukten und Dienstleistungen aus Iran nach Deutschland.

Höhepunkt des Jahres 2018 war der Tag der deutschen Wissenschaft in Teheran und Isfahan. Ziel der Veranstaltung war es, den iranischen Wissenschaftlern die deutsche Forschungsinfrastruktur näher zu bringen sowie neue bilaterale Forschungsprojekte zu initiieren. Unter Leitung des BMBF waren deutsche Forschungs- und Mittlerorganisationen, Universitäten und Hochschulen mit 58 Teilnehmern vertreten. Hiermit handelte es sich zugleich um eine der größten bislang vom BMBF geführten Delegationen überhaupt. Dieses eindrucksvolle Zeugnis für das breite Interesse der deutschen Forschungslandschaft an Kooperationen mit Iran wurde von den iranischen Gastgebern gespiegelt: Etwa 550 Iraner nahmen an der Veranstaltung teil und repräsentierten einen Querschnitt durch die iranische Forschungslandschaft.

Ein weiterer Höhepunkt war die gemeinsame Infotour von BMBF und DFG nach Iran im September 2018. Unter den deutschen Teilnehmern waren die VolkswagenStiftung, der DAAD und der DLR-PT, von iranischer Seite beteiligten sich das MSRT, das MoHME sowie die iranische nationale Wissenschaftsstiftung (INSF) an der Veranstaltungsreihe. Mit dem Ziel der weiteren Intensivierung der deutsch-iranischen Beziehungen in Wissenschaft und Forschung wurde an herausragenden iranischen Hochschulen über Möglichkeiten der deutsch-iranischen Forschungskooperation und der ebenso ausdifferenzierten deutschen wie iranischen Forschungsförderung informiert. Im Zuge der Veranstaltungsreihe wurden die Tehran University, die Universität Yazd, die Ferdowsi Universität Mashhad sowie die Universität von Guilan (ehemals Deutsch-Iranische Universität) besucht.

Im Mai 2019 richtete das BMBF einen mehrtägigen Workshop für ausgesuchte Teilnehmer des Wissenschaftsministeriums MSRT, des Ministeriums für Energie und Wasser MoE sowie des dem MoE zugeordneten NRI Forschungsinstituts aus. Ziel des Workshops war die Vermittlung zeitgemäßer Formen des Forschungsmanagements.

Der für Anfang Dezember 2019 geplante Iranische Tag der Wissenschaft in Deutschland musste angesichts der Ereignisse im Land verschoben werden. Das BMBF verweist in diesem Kontext auf die Erklärung des Auswärtigen Amtes zu den Geschehnissen im Iran. Aufgrund der aktuellen epidemiologischen Situation im Zusammenhang mit dem Corona Virus und der damit einhergehenden Einschränkungen steht die Neuterminierung der Veranstaltung derzeit noch aus. Über einen neuen Termin wird rechtzeitig informiert. Dessen ungeachtet gehört der Bereich Wissenschaft weiterhin zu den geeigneten und zu fördernden Bereichen der bilateralen Zusammenarbeit mit dem Iran. Diese werden weiterverfolgt.

Schwerpunkte der Zusammenarbeit

Die Forschungskooperation mit Iran erfolgt entsprechend der thematischen Schwerpunktsetzung des BMBF und in Ausgestaltung der mit den iranischen Partnerministerien unterzeichneten Absichtserklärungen. Im Fokus steht hier die Forschung zu Umweltfragen, zu Risiken und Naturkatastrophen, zu nachhaltigen Energiesystemen, zur Biodiversität und Bioökonomie sowie zu Gesundheitsthemen.

Im Dezember 2018 veröffentlichte das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) die erste gemeinsame Deutsch-Iranische Förderbekanntmachung zur bilateralen Förderung projektbezogener Mobilität. Die zur Förderung ausgewählten Projekte werden auf iranischer Seite je nach thematischer Ausrichtung vom MSRT oder dem MoHME gefördert. Mit der Umsetzung der Projekte sind auf deutscher wie iranischer Seite die jeweiligen Projektträger betraut. In Deutschland ist dies der DLR-PT, im Iran das Zentrum für internationale Wissenschaftliche Kooperation (CISC) für das MSRT und das Nationale Institut für Gesundheitsforschung (NIMAD) für das MoHME. Insgesamt wurden 26 bilaterale Projektanträge aus den Themenbereichen Umwelt-, Biodiversitäts-, Bioökonomie- und Gesundheitsforschung zur Förderung ausgewählt.

Erfolgsprojekte

Ein wichtiger thematischer Fokus der deutsch-iranischen Zusammenarbeit liegt im Bereich der Risiko- und Katastrophenforschung. Neben Naturkatastrophen werden hier auch epidemiologische Risiken mitgedacht. Aus diesem Schwerpunkt ist mit Start im April 2020 das Projekt INCREASE-HEALTH-CORONA hervorgegangen. Das Projekt zielt auf die Durchführung von Echtzeitanalysen nationaler und internationaler Maßnahmen zur Bekämpfung von COVID-19. Unter Beachtung verschiedener Skalen und komplexer damit verbundener Risiken und Vulnerabilitäten (ökonomisch, sozial, kulturell) werden Praktiken zur Bekämpfung der Epidemie umfassend und auf verschiedenen Maßstabsebenen analysiert. Hieraus werden Erfolgsbeispiele identifiziert. Unter Beachtung ökonomischer, sozialer und kultureller Effekte werden diese kultur- und wirtschaftssensibel auf Iran übertragen und hieraus Entscheidungshilfen formuliert.

Zum Themenfeld der Wasserwirtschaft fördert das BMBF unter anderem das Projekt „Integriertes Wasserressourcen-Management im Iran“. Hierdurch leistet das Bundesministerium einen Beitrag zur Entwicklung einer nachhaltigen Wasserwirtschaft in dem von Wassermangel stark betroffenen Einzugsgebiet des Zayandeh Rud im Zentraliran. Seit 2010 erarbeitet und implementiert ein deutsch-iranisches aus Wissenschaftlern, Unternehmen und Regierungsinstitutionen bestehendes Konsortium Maßnahmen, um die Wassernutzung entlang des Flusses nachhaltig zu gestalten und ein deutsch-iranisches Schulungszentrum für den Wassersektor aufzubauen.