Chile

Chile has been expanding its resource sector in recent years. As a result, Germany and Chile concluded a raw materials partnership in January 2013. This makes the South American country a potential target country for BMBF funding measures in the field of 'raw materials of strategic importance to the economy'. Chile has enormous potential in terms of highly-qualified scientists and is home to excellent research facilities.

Three men in an copper mine

Optimizing the extraction of molybdenum in Chilean copper mines © Helmholtz Institute for Resources Research in Freiberg

Funding opportunities for Chile

Within the framework of the bilateral cooperation in research and education, the exchange of scientists in collaborative projects between Germany and Chile is supported by various funding instruments.

Learn more about the Science and Technology Cooperation (STC) between Germany and Chile here.

Political framework

Chile, an OECD member since May 2010, is one of the most economically prosperous and politically stable countries in Latin America. The Chilean economy is experiencing strong growth rates driven by domestic demand and high copper prices. About 40 percent of the world's copper deposits are located in Cile. The current government of President Sebastian Piñera (since March 2018) for the most part intends to continue the education reforms of the previous administration. In August 2018, the government decided to establish a new Ministry of Science (Ministerio de Ciencia, Tecnología, Conocimiento e Innovación). Its first minister is neurobiologist Andrés Couve Correa.

The scientific and technological cooperation between the Federal Republic of Germany and the Republic of Chile is based upon a bilateral STC agreement signed on 1 October 2012. The agreement replaced an intergovernmental agreement concluded on 28 August 1970. It reflects the changes in the political framework conditions, taking particular account of the democratic development in Chile and bilateral STC developments over the last 40 years.

On the Chilean side, research policy is currently implemented by the National Commission for Scientific and Technological Research, CONICYT (Comisión Nacional de Investigación Científica y Tecnológica). The agency is the primary specialist partner, particularly for reciprocal financing of bilateral projects. In future, the new Ministry of Science will take over these tasks. On the German side, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) is responsible for the STC with Chile. It is supported in these efforts by International Bureau of the DLR Project Management Agency (DLR-PT).

The Chilean government has continued its policy of promoting Chilean research. In addition to educational reforms, President President Sebastian Piñera has embraced the strengthening of applied research in companies and specialized training in his government program in order to increase the country's competitiveness.

Focus of the German-Chilean cooperation

In collaboration with its international partners, Chile is engaged in efforts to explore outer space and investigate the Antarctic continent. Powerful large scale devices such as telescopes and research satellites provide scientific answers to some of the most pressing questions in astrophysics. The BMBF is funding 26 percent of the costs of the European Southern Observatory (ESO) with its locations in Santiago, Paranal, La Silla and Chajnantor in Chile. This makes Germany the largest contributor among the 11 participating European countries. At the commission meetings, the BMBF determines cooperation priorities in dialogue with the Chilean Foreign Ministry (MINREL) and the Ministry of Education (MINEDUC) as well as the National Research Council (CONICYT). The STC with Chile focuses on marine and polar research, mining and raw material extraction, biotechnology, health research, basic renewable energy research, environmental sciences and the sustainable use of natural resources as well as the cooperation in university education and vocational training.

Highlights of the bilateral cooperation

Identification of disasters in time

With support from the BMBF, the German Aerospace Center (DLR) runs the research cooperation project 'RIESGOS - Multi-risk analysis and information system components for the Andean region'. Using innovative research methods, complex multi-risk situations and associated cascading effects are analysed in selected regions of Chile, Ecuador and Peru. The system integrates terrestrial seismologic and geodesic observation networks with marine measurement methods and satellite observations. Primary partner on the Chilean side is the National Research Center for Integrated Natural Disasters Management – CIGIDEN, a centre of excellence for natural hazards comprised of four Chilean universities. To adapt the system to other catastrophes such as earthquakes, volcanic eruption, flooding, fire and landslides, further research is necessary. The project was launched against the backdrop of the large tsunami in Cile in 2010.

Tsunami-Frühwarncenter Chile Tsunami-Frühwarncenter Führung
DLR project 'RIESGOS': Project partners in the early warning center of the SHOA (Hydrographic Service of the Chilean Army)

Since 1991, the Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum (German Remote Sensing Data Centre) of the DLR and the Bundesamt für Kartographie und Geodäsie (Federal Agency for Cartography and Geodesy – BKG) have been running the German research station GARS O'Higgins (German Antarctic Receiving Station) in the Antarctic. Campaign teams have been on site year-round since the beginning of 2010. A maximum of ten scientists, engineers and technicians work at GARS O'Higgins. The station is operated in close cooperation with the Chilean Antarctic Institute (INACH).

Sustainable use of raw materials

The Chilean government will continue to invest in the mining sector over the next few years. It aims at optimizing the mining and use of raw materials and reduce the environmental impact. This requires, among other things, improved technical knowledge and well-trained specialists. Germany, on the other hand, is interested in getting access to raw materials in Chile. In this context Germany and Chile have established a raw materials partnership. Joint research activities in this field will be further developed.

Two research projects in collaboration with Chile are being funded under the umbrella of the funding program 'CLIENT II - International Partnerships for Sustainable Innovation' of the Federal Ministry of Research: In its 'Secondary Mining' project, the Technical University Bergakademie Freiberg investigates how important economic strategic raw materials can be recovered from Chilean mining dumps. In addition, technical solutions which lead to a more environmentally friendly storage of residual materials are being developed. On top of resource efficiency, there is a focus on water and natural risk factors.

The Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems is developing a process that can effectively separate mineral raw materials from brines that emerge when geothermal energy is produced. Some CO2-neutral geothermal heat is used in this process. In addition to the separation of mineral raw materials, pure drinking water which is especially scarce in Northern Chile is produced during this treatment of the brines.

The excellence centre 'Centre for Solar Energy Technologies (CSET)' was founded in 2015 under the auspices of Fraunhofer Chile Research (FCR) with the support of the Chilean economic funding authority CORFO. This is a cooperation with the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems (ISE) in Freiburg. The primary aim is to test solar technologies in Northern Chile by constructing different pilot facilities. In doing so, Fraunhofer CSET wants to contribute to generating innovations, establishing a Chilean solar economy and extensively implementing solar energy in the most important industry sectors in Chile. Fraunhofer Chile Research (FCR) was founded in 2010 and is the first international centre of excellence of Fraunhofer Gesellschaft in the southern hemisphere.

Funding the cooperation with Chile

To support networking, the International Bureau of the DLR Project Management Agency  every year publishes funding announcements in cooperation with its Brazilian partner, CONICYT. Funding allows research groups from Germany and Chile to collaborate on joint projects and to implement research phases in each other's countries.

In addition, the division responsible for cooperation with Chile provides resources for workshops and scientific exchange programmes to support young researchers and prepare projects. Measures to promote Germany as a location for study and research have become increasingly important.

What is more, additional research projects are supported through the BMBF specialist programmes, and DAAD and DFG also have specific funding programmes with Chilean partners.

Science and Technology Cooperation (STC) between Germany and Chile

!nternational collaborative projects and the exchange of scientists are funded within the framework of the bilateral cooperation in education and research between Germany and Chile. Upon request, allowances for mobility costs within the framework of a bilateral cooperation project (mobility projects) may be granted. Furthermore, in individual cases, support for bilateral workshops on topics of strategic interest can be provided.

Type of support

As a general rule, support will be given in the form of mobility aid and, in special cases, grants. In general, travel costs incurred by German project participants travelling abroad and the accommodation expenses of foreign project participants staying in Germany will be subsidised by the IB.

Mobility projects

Applications for mobility projects can only be submitted during certain periods following a funding announcement. Funding announcements include bilaterally agreed key areas of focus – with regard to BMBF specialised programmes – and are normally published annually in the summer. The application must be submitted in parallel together with the foreign partner both to the IB and to the Chilean partner organisation (CONICYT).

If a bilateral funding announcement is active, you will find information on the key areas and application procedure here. Before submitting an application, we recommended you to get in touch with Dr. Inge Lamberz de Bayas, the scientific contact person at the IB.

Information on the corresponding programme of the CONICYT in Chile is available for your partner from Chile at the programme website.

Measures to initiate themes of particular interest to the BMBF

In coordination with the International Bureau, in individual cases, bilateral workshops on topics that are of particular strategic interest to the BMBF can also be funded. These workshops are to be geared towards bringing together partners in research areas relating to specialist programmes of the BMBF and of the European Framework Programme for Research. As a general rule, support will be granted in the form of mobility aid and, in special cases, grants (in connection with the preparation and implementation of the workshop).

The conception and preparation of such workshops will take place in coordination with the BMBF. Hence, please contact our specialist Dr. Inge Lamberz de Bayas before applying.

Chile

Chile baut in den kommenden Jahren seinen Rohstoffsektor weiter aus. Im Januar 2013 haben Deutschland und Chile deshalb eine Rohstoffpartnerschaft geschlossen. Das südamerikanische Land ist somit potenzielles Zielland von BMBF-Fördermaßnahmen im Bereich „Wirtschaftsstrategischer Rohstoffe“. Chile besitzt ein großes Potenzial an hochqualifizierten Wissenschaftlern und verfügt über sehr gute Forschungseinrichtungen.

Molybdän-Abbau in Chile

Optimierung der Gewinnung von Molybdän in chilenischer Kupferminen © Helmholtz-Institut für Ressourcenforschung in Freiberg

Förderungsmöglichkeiten für Chile

Im Rahmen der bilateralen Zusammenarbeit in Bildung und Forschung wird der Wissenschaftleraustausch in Kooperationsprojekten zwischen Deutschland und Chile durch verschiedene Förderinstrumente unterstützt.

Weitere Informationen zur Deutsch-Chilenischen Wissenschaftlich-Technologischen Zusammenarbeit (WTZ) finden Sie hier.

Politischer Rahmen

Chile, seit Mai 2010 OECD-Mitglied, ist eines der wirtschaftlich prosperierendsten und politisch stabilsten Länder in Lateinamerika. Die chilenische Wirtschaft weist starke Wachstumsraten auf, die von der Inlandsnachfrage und den hohen Kupferpreisen getragen werden. Chile besitzt circa 40 Prozent der weltweit existierenden Kupfervorkommen. Die aktuelle Regierung unter Präsident Sebastian Piñera (seit März 2018) will die Reformpolitik der Vorgängerregierung im Bildungsbereich größtenteils fortsetzen. Die Gründung eines neuen Wissenschaftsministeriums (Ministerio de Ciencia, Tecnología, Conocimiento e Innovación) ist seit August 2018 beschlossen. Erster Minister ist der Neurobiologe Andrés Couve Correa.

Grundlage der wissenschaftlich-technologischen Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und der Republik Chile ist das am 1. Oktober 2012 unterzeichnete neue bilaterale WTZ-Abkommen. Das Abkommen ersetzt das am 28. August 1970 geschlossene Regierungsabkommen. Es soll den veränderten politischen Rahmenbedingungen, vor allem der demokratischen Entwicklung in Chile Rechnung tragen sowie die Entwicklungen der bilateralen WTZ der letzten 40 Jahre reflektieren.

Die Forschungspolitik wird auf chilenischer Seite derzeit noch vom Nationalen Rat für wissenschaftliche Forschung und Technologie CONICYT (Comisión Nacional de Investigación Científica y Tecnológica) umgesetzt. Die Behörde ist der wichtigste fachliche Partner, vor allem in der Gegenfinanzierung der bilateralen Projekte. Das neue Wissenschaftsministerium wird zukünftig diese Aufgaben übernehmen. Auf deutscher Seite ist das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) für die WTZ mit Chile zuständig. Es wird dabei vom Projektträger im DLR, Internationales Büro (IB) unterstützt.

Die chilenische Regierung hat die begonnene Politik zur Förderung der chilenischen Forschung fortgesetzt. Staatspräsident Präsident Sebastian Piñera hat neben den Bildungsreformen eine Stärkung der angewandten Forschung in Unternehmen sowie der Fachausbildung in seinem Regierungsprogramm vorgesehen, um so die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Landes zu erhöhen.

Schwerpunkte der deutsch-chilenischen Zusammenarbeit

Sowohl der Blick in das Weltall als auch die Erforschung des antarktischen Kontinents findet im Verbund mit internationalen Partnern von Chile aus statt. Leistungsfähige Großgeräte wie Teleskope und Forschungssatelliten bringen wichtige Forschungsergebnisse auf einige der drängendsten Fragen der Astrophysik. Das BMBF finanziert 26 Prozent der Kosten der Europäischen Südsternwarte (ESO) mit ihren Standorten Santiago, Paranal, La Silla und Chajnantor in Chile. Damit ist Deutschland der größte Beitragszahler innerhalb der 11 beteiligten europäischen Länder.

Auf den Kommissionssitzungen legt das BMBF im Dialog mit dem chilenischen Außenministerium (MINREL) gemeinsam mit dem Bildungsministerium (MINEDUC) und dem Nationalen Forschungsrat (CONICYT) die Schwerpunktthemen für die Kooperation fest. Die WTZ mit Chile konzentriert sich auf die Bereiche Meeres- und Polarforschung, Bergbau und Rohstoffgewinnung, Gesundheitsforschung, Biotechnologie, grundlagenorientierte Forschung zu erneuerbaren Energien, Umweltwissenschaften und nachhaltige Nutzung natürlicher Ressourcen sowie auf die Zusammenarbeit in der Hochschul- und beruflichen Bildung.

Höhepunkte der bilateralen Kooperation

Katastrophen rechtzeitig erkennen

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) unterhält mit Unterstützung des BMBF das Verbundprojekt „RIESGOS - Multi-Risiko Analyse und Informationssystemkomponenten für die Andenregion“. Anhand innovativer Forschungsmethoden werden komplexe Multi-Risiko Situationen und damit verbundenen kaskadierenden Effekte in ausgewählten Regionen in Chile, Ecuador und Peru analysiert. Das System integriert terrestrische Beobachtungsnetze der Seismologie und Geodäsie mit marinen Messverfahren und Satellitenbeobachtungen. Hauptpartner auf chilenischer Seite ist das Exzellenzzentrum für Naturgefahren „National Research Center for Integrated Natural Disasters Management – CIGIDEN“, bestehend aus vier chilenischen Universitäten. Da das System auch für andere Katastrophen wie Erdbeben, Vulkanausbruch, Überschwemmungen, Feuer und Erdrutsche ausgebaut werden soll, sind weitere Forschungen nötig. Hintergrund für das Projekt ist der große Tsunami von 2010 in Chile.

Tsunami-Frühwarncenter Chile Tsunami-Frühwarncenter Führung
DLR-Projekt „RIESGOS “. Projektteilnehmer im Frühwarnzentrum der SHOA (Hydrografischer Dienst der chilenischen Armee)

Das Deutsche Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und das Bundesamt für Kartographie und Geodäsie (BKG) betreiben seit 1991 die deutsche Forschungsstation GARS O’Higgins (German Antarctic Receiving Station) in der Antarktis. Seit Anfang 2010 befinden sich ganzjährig Kampagnenteams vor Ort. Maximal zehn Wissenschaftler, Ingenieure und Techniker arbeiten in GARS O’Higgins. Der Betrieb der Station erfolgt in enger Kooperation mit dem Chilenischen Antarktis-Institut (INACH).

Nachhaltiger Umgang mit Rohstoffen

Die chilenische Regierung wird in den nächsten Jahren weiter in den Bergbausektor investieren. Sie will den Abbau und die Nutzung von Rohstoffen optimieren und umweltfreundlicher gestalten. Dazu benötigt sie unter anderem verbesserte technische Kenntnisse und gut ausgebildete Fachkräfte. Deutschland wiederum hat Interesse, sich den Zugang zu Rohstoffen in Chile zu sichern. Vor diesem Hintergrund haben Deutschland und Chile eine Rohstoffpartnerschaft geschlossen. Die gemeinsamen Forschungsaktivitäten auf diesem Gebiet sollen weiter ausgebaut werden.

Unter dem Dach des Förderprogramms „CLIENT II - Internationale Partnerschaften für nachhaltige Innovationen“ des Bundesforschungsministeriums werden zwei Forschungsprojekte mit Chile gefördert: Die Technische Universität Bergakademie Freiberg untersucht in dem Vorhaben „Secondary Mining“ wie aus chilenischen Bergbau-Halden wichtige wirtschaftsstrategische Rohstoffe zurückgewonnen werden können. Darüber hinaus werden technische Lösungen entwickelt, die zu einer umweltschonenderen Lagerung der Restmaterialien führen. Neben der Rohstoffeffizienz stehen auch die Themen Wasser und Natur-Risiken im Fokus.

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Solare Energiesysteme entwickelt ein Verfahren, mit dem die mineralischen Rohstoffe aus den Solen, die bei der Nutzung der Geothermie zutage treten, effektiv abgetrennt werden können. Dabei wird der wesentliche Energiebedarf CO2-neutral über die geothermische Wärme gedeckt. Als weitere Ressource wird bei der Aufbereitung der Solen reines Trinkwasser gewonnen, an dem es vor allem im Norden Chiles massiv mangelt.

Unter dem Dach von Fraunhofer Chile Research (FCR) ist 2015 das Exzellenzzentrum „Center for Solar Energy Technologies (CSET)“ mit Unterstützung der chilenischen Wirtschaftsförderbehörde CORFO gegründet worden. Es handelt sich um eine Kooperation mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Solare Energiesysteme (ISE) in Freiburg. Es sollen vor allem Solartechnologien im Norden Chiles durch die Konstruktion von verschiedenen Pilotanlagen erprobt werden. Das Fraunhofer CSET will damit zur Generierung von Innovationen, zur Etablierung einer chilenischen Solarwirtschaft sowie zur umfassenden Implementierung der Solarenergie in den wichtigsten Industriesektoren Chiles beitragen. Fraunhofer Chile Research (FCR) wurde 2010 gegründet und ist das erste internationale Exzellenzzentrum der Forschungsinstitution in der südlichen Hemisphäre.

Förderung der Zusammenarbeit mit Chile

Zur Unterstützung der Vernetzung werden jährliche Förderbekanntmachungen von Projektträger -Internationales Büro mit dem chilenischen Partner CONICYT veröffentlicht. Die Förderung ermöglicht es Forschergruppen aus Deutschland und Chile, in gemeinsamen Projekten zusammenzuarbeiten und Forschungsphasen im jeweils anderen Land zu realisieren.

Außerdem werden von Seiten des für die Zusammenarbeit mit Chile zuständigen Länderreferats Mittel für Anbahnungsaktivitäten, Workshops, den Wissenschaftleraustausch und für die Nachwuchsförderung aufgewendet. Maßnahmen zur Werbung für den Studien- und Forschungsstandort Deutschland gewinnen zunehmend an Bedeutung.

Aus den Fachprogrammen des BMBF werden zudem weitere Forschungsvorhaben gefördert. Auch DAAD und DFG haben spezifische Förderprogramme mit chilenischen Partnern.

Die Rolle des Internationalen Büros

Die bilaterale Kooperation der Regierungen sowie der Forschungs- und Entwicklungs-Institutionen wird in Deutschland auch vom Internationalen Büro (IB) unterstützt.

Deutsch-Chilenische Wissenschaftlich-Technologische Zusammenarbeit (WTZ)

Im Rahmen der bilateralen Zusammenarbeit in Bildung und Forschung zwischen Deutschland und Chile wird der Wissenschaftleraustausch in internationalen Kooperationsprojekten gefördert. Auf Antrag können Zuschüsse gewährt werden zu Mobilitätskosten im Rahmen eines bilateralen Kooperationsprojekts (Mobilitätsprojekte). In Einzelfällen können darüber hinaus bilaterale Workshops zu Themen von strategischem Interesse finanziert werden.

Art der Unterstützung

In der Regel wird die Unterstützung in Form von Mobilitäts- und in besonderen Fällen Sachbeihilfen gewährt. Dabei werden von Seiten des IB grundsätzlich Reisekosten von deutschen Projektteilnehmern ins Ausland und Aufenthaltskosten ausländischer Projektteilnehmer in Deutschland bezuschusst.

Mobilitätsprojekte

Anträge für Mobilitätsprojekte können nur nach vorheriger Förderbekanntmachung zu bestimmten Fristen eingereicht werden. Die Förderbekanntmachungen beinhalten bilateral vereinbarte thematische Schwerpunktbereiche - mit Bezug zu BMBF-Fachprogrammen - und werden in der Regel jährlich im Sommer veröffentlicht. Der Antrag ist gemeinsam mit dem ausländischen Partner parallel im IB und bei der chilenischen Partnerorganisation (CONICYT) einzureichen.

Sollte eine bilaterale Förderbekanntmachung aktuell sein, so finden Sie Informationen zu Schwerpunkten und Antragsverfahren hier. Vor der Beantragung wird empfohlen, Kontakt mit der fachlichen Ansprechpartnerin im Internationalen Büro, Dr. Inge Lamberz de Bayas, aufzunehmen.

Informationen zum korrespondierenden Programm des CONICYT in Chile findet Ihr chilenischer Partner auf der Website des Programms.

Maßnahmen zur Anbahnung in Themenbereichen von besonderem BMBF-Interesse

In Abstimmung mit dem Internationalen Büro können in Einzelfällen zu Themen, die für das BMBF von besonderem strategischem Interesse sind, bilaterale Workshops finanziert werden. Diese Workshops sollen darauf ausgerichtet sein, Partner in Forschungsbereichen zusammen zu bringen, die einen Bezug zu den Fachprogrammen des BMBF und dem europäischen Forschungsrahmenprogramm haben. In der Regel wird die Unterstützung in Form von Mobilitäts- und in besonderen Fällen Sachbeihilfen (in Zusammenhang mit der Vorbereitung und Durchführung des Workshops) gewährt.