The German-African Innovation Incentive Award – GAIIA

The 'German-African Innovation Award' is a new instrument of the BMBF to strengthen innovative research in Africa and to translate research results into practical solutions that benefit African societies. The aim is to improve the living conditions of people in Africa. German-African partnerships are an important success factor.

Federal Research Minster Anja Karliczek and the four awardees 2018 © BMBF/ Hans-Joachim Rickel

Federal Research Minster Anja Karliczek and the four awardees 2018 © BMBF/ Hans-Joachim Rickel

The award honours outstanding achievements already made by African researchers and at the same time enables a German-African follow-up project with which the research results can be further developed in the direction of future exploitation. In this way, the award supports German research and innovation players in expanding their cooperation with African partners.

The prize is endowed with 150,000 € and is awarded in the form of a grant. This will go to the German partner institution with which the African scientist is carrying out the joint two-year research and innovation project. At least half of the grant is for use by the African partner.

On the basis of a utilisation or exploitation concept, the German-African project aims to transfer research results with technical or social-innovative potential into practical solutions that meet the needs of African societies. If possible, the funded project should go beyond the pure project results and form the basis for the establishment of a sustainable innovation structure (e.g. research-based small enterprise).

In May 2018, Federal Research Minister Anja Karliczek awarded the prize for the first time to four African scientists and their German cooperation partners.

Awardees of the 1st call and excellent projects
Awardees of the 2nd call and excellent projects

The BMBF announced the results of the second call for proposals published on 27 September 2018. Six scientists from Africa (Ghana, Morocco, South Africa, Tunisia, Uganda) and their German cooperation partners receive the award for their excellent research results with high potential for use and exploitation. The projects were selected by a high-ranking jury of German and African experts from 46 submitted applications. The award ceremony planned for 18 March 2020 in Berlin by Federal Minister Anja Karliczek could not take place due to the corona pandemic and will be postponed to a later date.

Announcement text of the 2nd call of 27 September 2018:

English | French | German

Deutsch-Afrikanischer Innovationsförderpreis (German-African Innovation Incentive Award – GAIIA)

Der „Deutsch- Afrikanische Innovationsförderpreis“ ist ein neues Instrument des BMBF, um innovative Forschung in Afrika zu stärken und Forschungsergebnisse in praktische Lösungen umzusetzen, die den afrikanischen Gesellschaften zugutekommen. Dadurch sollen die Lebensbedingungen für Menschen in Afrika verbessert werden. Die deutsch-afrikanischen Partnerschaften stellen dabei einen wichtigen Erfolgsfaktor dar. 

Bundesforschungsministerin Anja Karliczek und die vier Preisträger/innen 2018 © BMBF/ Hans-Joachim Rickel

Bundesforschungsministerin Anja Karliczek und die vier Preisträger/innen 2018 © BMBF/ Hans-Joachim Rickel

Der Förderpreis honoriert bereits erbrachte herausragende Leistungen afrikanischer Forscher/innen und ermöglicht zugleich ein deutsch-afrikanisches Anschlussprojekt, mit dem die Forschungsergebnisse in Richtung auf eine künftige Verwertung weiterentwickelt werden können. Damit unterstützt der Förderpreis deutsche Forschungs- und Innovationsakteure beim Ausbau ihrer Zusammenarbeit mit afrikanischen Partnern.

Der Förderpreis ist mit 150.000 € dotiert und wird in Form einer Zuwendung vergeben. Diese geht an die deutsche Partnerinstitution, mit der die afrikanische Wissenschaftlerin bzw. der afrikanische Wissenschaftler das gemeinsame zweijährige Forschungs- und Innovationsprojekt durchführt. Dabei entfällt mindestens die Hälfte der Zuwendung auf die Verwendung durch den afrikanischen Partner.

Auf Grundlage eines Nutzungs- oder Verwertungskonzepts verfolgt das deutsch-afrikanische Projekt das Ziel, Forschungsergebnisse mit technisch- oder sozial-innovativem Potenzial in praktische Lösungen zu überführen, die den Bedarfen der Gesellschaften in Afrika entsprechen. Nach Möglichkeit soll das geförderte Projekt über die reinen Projektergebnisse hinaus Grundlage für den Aufbau einer nachhaltigen Innovationsstruktur (z.B. forschungsbasiertes Kleinunternehmen) sein.

Der Förderpreis wurde von Bundesforschungsministerin Anja Karliczek erstmalig im Mai 2018 an vier afrikanische Wissenschaftler/innen aus Afrika und ihre deutschen Kooperationspartner/innen verliehen.

Preisträger/innen der 1. Ausschreibung und ausgezeichnete Projekte

Preisträger/innen der 2. Ausschreibung und ausgezeichneten Projekte

Für die am 27. September 2018 veröffentlichte zweite Ausschreibung hat das BMBF die Ergebnisse bekannt gegeben. Sechs Wissenschaftler/innen aus Afrika (Ghana, Marokko, Südafrika, Tunesien, Uganda) und ihre deutschen Kooperationspartner erhalten den Förderpreis für ihre exzellenten Forschungsergebnisse mit hohem Verwertungspotenzial. Die Projekte wurden von einer hochrangigen Jury aus deutschen und afrikanischen Expertinnen und Experten aus 46 eingereichten Anträgen ausgewählt. Die für den 18. März 2020 in Berlin vorgesehene Preisverleihung durch Frau Bundesministerin Anja Karliczek konnte aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie leider nicht stattfinden und wird auf einen späteren Zeitpunkt verschoben.

 Bekanntmachungstext der 2. Ausschreibung vom 27. September 2018:

Deutsch | EnglischFranzösisch