G7 / G20

The 'Group of Seven' (G7) and the 'Group of Twenty' (G20) are informal forums bringing together the Heads of State and government. The annually rotating presidency decides which topics will be discussed at the summit and ministerial meetings as well as the preparatory working groups. The forum groupings offer political decision-makers the opportunity to informally exchange ideas and reach agreements. The G7 and G20 see themselves as a multilateral community of values.

Content

News

G7: Germany has held the G7 Presidency since 1 January 2022 until the end of the year. Under the motto 'Progress for a Just World', the German Federal Government, together with its international partners, addresses central issues of multilateral cooperation, cohesion within and between societies, and common challenges. The programme for this year's Presidency is geared to five fields of action:

  • Strong alliances for a sustainable planet,
  • Setting the course for economic stability and transformation
  • Enhanced preparedness for healthy lives
  • Sustainable Investments in a better future
  • Stronger together

The topic of research accompanies Germany in the so-called 'G7 Science Track' (working group). The main areas of work are:

  • Research on Covid: with a special focus on Post-Covid
  • Research to combat climate change: in particular research on carbon dioxide removal from the atmosphere and ocean-climate-biodiversity nexus
  • Protecting the freedom, integrity and security of science and research: in particular endorsing the Bonn Declaration.

In addition to the above-mentioned focal points, the science ministers will continue topics from the previous G7 agenda. These include issues of global health, joint research and development of clean energy and the promotion of digital education. More information is available on the  website of the German G7 presidency.

G20: Indonesia assumed the G20 presidency on 1 December 2021. Under the motto 'Recover Together, Recover Stronger', Indonesia aims to make progress in three priority areas: Global Health, Sustainable Energy Transition and Digital Transformation. Indonesia underlines the G20's leadership in the recovery from the Corona pandemic. 'Tackling inequalities' is a common thread running through the overall agenda.

In the thematic area of education, Indonesia has set four priorities:

  • Universal and quality education: achieving inclusive and quality education for all (SDG4);
  • Digital technologies in education: Expand digital structures in schools and train teachers to use digital technology;
  • Solidarity and partnerships: greater involvement of stakeholders from politics, research, the private sector and civil society to improve education and training provision;
  • The Future of Work Post-Covid: necessary adaptations to a changing labour market, lifelong learning, inclusion and engagement of business partners.

In the thematic area of science, the Indonesian Presidency has set two priorities:

  • Greater collaboration in research and innovation through sharing of facilities, infrastructure and funding, particularly in biodiversity, marine research, renewable energy and space research/geosciences.
  • Use of biodiversity to support a 'green' and 'blue' economy.

More information is available on the G20 website.

Currently, there are discussions about excluding Russia from the G20 due to Russia's war of aggression on Ukraine, which is against international law.

Structure

The 'Group of Seven' (G7) and the 'Group of Twenty' (G20) are informal forum of for Heads of States and government from the most important industrialised and emerging countries. The annually rotating presidency is responsible for shaping the summit's agenda and organising all other thematic ministerial meetings. As a troika, the incumbent presidency is supported by the previous and the succeeding presidency. Each presidency selects its own focus topics that are commonly discussed. Often, the presidency is given a specific motto. Decisions in both forums are made by consensus - nevertheless, they have legally binding character. Neither forum has a permanent headquarters, offices or staff.

The G7 and the G20 consider themselves as a community of values for peace, security and a self-determined life worldwide. Freedom, human rights, democracy and the rule of law as well as prosperity and sustainable development are central principles. However, these concepts are sometimes understood and guaranteed in very different ways, especially in the G20 member states, or are not adhered to. Currently, there are discussions about excluding Russia from the G20 due to Russia's war of aggression on Ukraine (see also G20 members).

Since their foundation, the heads of state and governments (of the G7 and G20) have usually met annually on the invitation of the respective presidency. These meetings in general offer the opportunity to exchange views in person. For each summit, a Leaders’ Declaration summarising the most important results and, if necessary, accompanying reports and work plans are issued. The themes and topics for the summit’s declaration are prepared by the Sherpas as well as the thematic ministers and secretaries. The Sherpas are personal delegates of the heads of state.

In the final summit declarations, the heads of states and governments agree on common goals, tasks and guidelines. The implementation of those common goals is primarily a national responsibility. In the case of Germany, the federal government informs the committees of the German Bundestag about the results after each summit. The Federal Governments’ reports of recent years on the G7 / G8 and G20 summits can be found under'Reports and Declarations by the Federal Government'.

Members

G7 Members

The 'Group of 7' includes Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom and the USA. The European Commission has permanent observer status. This observer role has expanded over time. Since the Ottawa summit in 1981, the EU Commission has regularly participated in all working meetings. However, as a supranational organisation, the EU Commission is not 'counted' as a country o the G7 and does not assume the rotating chair or presidency or is enabled to vote.

map of G7 countries Canada | since 1976 (G7) USA | since 1973 (G4) USA |since 1973 (G4) Japan | since 1973 (G5) United Kingdom | since 1973 (G4) France | since 1973 (G4) (Federal Republic of) Germany | since 1973 (G4) Italiy | since 1975 (G6)

G7 countries © DLR

Each presidency has the liberty to invite further 'guest'-countries or other international organisations and institutions (such as bodies of the UN).

After having violated Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity in 2014, Russia has until today been expelled from the G8.

G20 Members

In 1999, the G20 met for the first time at the level of finance ministers and central bank governors. In 2008, the G20 Heads of State met for the first time.

The forum consists of the following members: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, European Union, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Republic of Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States of America. Unlike at the G7, the European Commission is a full member of the G20. Spain is a permanent guest country in the G20.

After Russia's war of aggression on Ukraine, an exclusion of Russia from the G20 is currently being discussed. A unanimous decision in this sense is not to be expected due to China's position. As things stand, therefore, the G7 and EU member states among the G20 members each place a strong condemnation of Russia before their speech at the G20 meetings. The decision as to whether a joint summit declaration will be drafted at all under these circumstances and whether a final meeting of the education and science ministers and the heads of government will take place at all is still pending. 

map of G20 countries Canada USA USA Japan United Kingdom France Germany Italiy Brazil Argentina South Africa Australia Saudi Arabia Turkey Mexico Russia China India India Indonesia South Korea

G20 countries © DLR

Next to the member states, other states and organisations participate in the work of the G20, if invited by the acting presidency. Regular participants within the G20 process are:

  • The International Monetary Fund (IMF),
  • the World Bank,
  • the UN with its specialised agencies such as the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO),
  • the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD),
  • the World Trade Organization (WTO),
  • the International Labor Organization (ILO),
  • the Financial Stability Board (FSB)
  • the presidential countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), the African Union (AU) and the New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD).

Presidencies

G7 Presidencies

It is the task of the respective presidency to set priorities in terms of content, shape the agenda and organize and prepare the meetings. Germany hosted the G7 / G8 in 1978, 1985, 1992, 1999, 2007 and 2015 and thus has held the chair six times so far. In 2022, Germany will take over the G7 presidency again.

timeline G7 presidency

G7 presidencies © DLR

G20 Presicencies

The presidency rotates annually among the G20 members. For the rotation process, the countries are divided into 'regional' groups. The group internally determines who will take the chair in the relevant year.

In, 1999, 2004 and 2017, Germany has held the G20 Presidency and also hosted the G20 finance ministers in 2017.

Indonesia currently holds the presidency. The G20 presidencies from 2015 to 2024 are distributed as follows:

timeline G20 presidency

G20 presidencies © DLR

Topics

It is the task of the respective presidential country to set priorities in terms of content. At the same time, references are often made to decisions and resolutions from earlier years, so that one can speak of a G7 agenda and G20 agenda.

G7 Topics

At the annual G7 summit, the Heads of States and Governments meet to discuss themes and topics chosen by the respective presidency. In view of the economic challenges in the 1970s - the first oil crisis and the collapse of the system of fixed exchange rates (Bretton Woods) - the meeting originally served to develop approaches in international economic policy to counter the ongoing global financial crisis.

The G7 has expanded its agenda over the years so that it now covers a wide range of global issues and challenges. Some topics are regularly included in the agenda, such as world economy and trade, foreign and security policy, development policy and food security, climate and energy as well as labor and social affairs.

The main topics of the last G7 summits and ministerial meetings in the fields of education and science are listed below:

2022: Germany
Meeting of the G7 Science Ministers, 12-14 June, Frankfurt

  • Research on Post-Covid
  • Research to combat climate change
  • Protecting the freedom, integrity and security of science and research

2021: United Kingdom

Meeting of the G7 Science Ministers’ 13 July 2021, hybrid

  • Equal opportunities, inclusive research systems
  • Security and integrity of the research system
  • Open Science

2020: USA Presidency

Extraordinary Meeting of the G7 Science and Technology Ministers, 28 May 20, (ad-hoc) virtual

  • Joint G7-Science and Technology Ministers‘ Declaration on COVID-19
  • Cooperation in joint COVID-19 research priorities
  • Access to data: joint use of high-performance computers, Global Partnership on Artificial Intelligence (GPAI)
  • Innovative approaches to combat the pandemic

2019: France

G7-Education Ministers‘ Meeting, 4 July, Paris

  • Declaration concerns Early Childhood Education and the professionalization of teacher training
    Communiqué regarding the combat of school bullying

G7-Education and Development Ministers‘ Meeting, 5 July, Paris

  • Education for Girls
  • Vocational Training in support of the social and professional integration

2018: Canada

no meeting of the education and science ministers

2017: Italy

G7-Science Ministers‘ Meeting, 28-29 September, Turin

  • Qualification of labor power for Research and Innovation
  • The role research plays in promoting future technologies, innovations and their funding mechanisms
  • Global research infrastructures and access to data

The joint statements of the G7 science ministers can be viewed on the website of the Canadian G7 presidency.

There are currently four G7 working groups in the field of science and research that work on global challenges.

Working Group
Chair
Founding Year
Security and Integrity of the Research Ecosystem United Kingdom, Canada 2021
Open Science Japan, EU
2016
Future of the Seas and Oceans United Kingdom
2015
GSO Global Research Infrastructures currently China (together with the UK) 2013



G20 Topics

The G20 initially concentrated on reforms to regulate the financial markets and the international monetary system, as well as the macroeconomic cooperation between the G20 countries. In the meantime, however, the G20 agenda – like the G7 agenda – has been expanded and now includes a wide range of further topics.

Next to the focus topics economy and finance, the forum discusses Topics in the areas of:

  • Finances and Consequences for the World Economy
  • Global Health
  • Climate Change and Environment
  • Agriculture and Water
  • Digitalisation
  • Energy
  • Development
  • Education
  • Work and Labour
  • Gender Equality

As a result of the first G20 Digital Ministers meeting in Germany in 2017, the topics of digitalisation and artificial intelligence have become increasingly important. Due to the thematic breadth of the G20, there is a large number of different working groups and their meetings.

For the first time in 2018, education was put on the G20 agenda by the Argentine presidency.

2022: Indonesia

G20 Education Ministers' Meeting, 26 July, Bali

  • Universal and quality education
  • Digital technologies in education
  • Solidarityaritity and partnerships
  • Future of work after COVID-19

G20 Meeting of Science Ministers, 30 August, Jakarta

  • Enhanced collaboration in research and innovation through sharing of facilities, infrastructure and funding
  • Using biodiversity to support the green and blue economy

2021: Italy

G20-Education Ministers Meeting, 22 June, hybrid

G20-Educations and Labour and Employment Ministers Meeting, 22 June, hybrid

G20-Research and Higher Education Ministers Meeting, 6 August, hybrid

  • Joint declaration on Leveraging Research, Higher Education and Digitalisation for a Strong, Sustainable, Resilient and Inclusive Recovery

2020: Saudi-Arabia

G20-Education Ministers Meeting on COVID-19, 29 June, virtual

  • As a consequence of the pandemic: Exchange regarding the global disruption of education and potential solutions to attenuate negative impacts
  • Equal access to education via more digitization and more 'distance-learning'-concepts
  • Changed forms of internationalization in education

G20-Education Ministers‘ Meeting, 5 September, virtual

  • Education continuity
  • Early Childhood Education and technology
  • Internationalisation in education

2019: Japan

no Ministerial Meeting on education and science

2018: Argentina

G20 Joint Education and Labor Ministers‘ Meeting 5 September, Mendoza

  • Skills for the future
  • Financing Education
  • International Cooperation in Education

In preparation of the first G20 Education Ministers‘ Meeting, the G20 Education Working Group (EWG) was founded.

2017: Germany

no Ministerial Meeting regarding Education and Science

Cooperation with Civil Society

The heads of states and governments actively seek and support the dialogue with stakeholders from business, civil society, research and others. These groups make an important contribution to bringing the issues of the G7 and G20 into society in a participatory manner. In turn they make recommendations to the fora. The so-called 'engagement groups' agree on a position paper with recommendations for action and may exert influence in this way. Various non-governmental groups are present in this context:

  • Business: B7 respectively B20,
  • Civil: C7 respectively C20,
  • Labour: L7 respectively L20,
  • Science: S7 respectively S20,
  • Think (tanks): T7 respectively T20,
  • Universities: U7 Alliance,
  • Women: W7 respectively W20,
  • Youth: Y7 respectively Y20.

The groups each consist of experts in the respective fields from all G7 / G20 countries. In the science 7 / science 20 engagement group for example, the National Academy of Sciences – the Leopoldina – represents German science and develops joint statements and recommendations in advance of relevant ministerial meetings.

The International Bureau supports the BMBF in its work to participate in the G7 and G20.

G7 / G20

Die „Gruppe der Sieben“ (G7) und die „Gruppe der Zwanzig“ (G20) sind informelle Zusammenschlüsse der Staats- und Regierungschefs. Die jährlich rotierende Präsidentschaft entscheidet, welche Themen bei den Gipfel- und Ministertreffen sowie den vorbereitenden Arbeitsgruppen besprochen werden. Die Zusammenschlüsse bieten politischen Entscheidungsträgern die Möglichkeit, sich informell auszutauschen und Vereinbarungen zu treffen. Die G7 und G20 verstehen sich als multilaterale Wertegemeinschaft.

Inhalt

Aktuelles

G7: Deutschland hat seit dem 1. Januar 2022 die G7-Präsidentschaft bis zum Jahresende inne. Unter dem Motto „Fortschritt für eine gerechte Welt“ widmet sich die deutsche Bundesregierung gemeinsam mit ihren internationalen Partnern zentralen Fragen der multilateralen Zusammenarbeit, dem Zusammenhalt in und zwischen Gesellschaften sowie gemeinsamen Herausforderungen. Das Programm für die diesjährige Präsidentschaft ist an fünf Handlungsfeldern ausgerichtet:

  • Starke Allianzen für einen nachhaltigen Planeten,
  • Weichenstellungen für wirtschaftliche Stabilität und Transformation,
  • Starke Vorsorge für ein gesundes Leben,
  • Nachhaltige Investitionen in eine bessere Zukunft,
  • Gemeinsamer Einsatz für ein starkes Miteinander.

Das Thema Forschung begleitet Deutschland im sogenannten „G7 Science Track“ (Arbeitsgruppe). Gesetzte Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind:

  • Forschung zu Covid: mit besonderem Fokus auf Post-Covid
  • Forschung zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels: insbesondere Forschung zu Kohlendioxid-Entnahme aus der Atmosphäre und Ozean-Klima-Biodiversitäts-Nexus
  • Schutz der Freiheit, Integrität und Sicherheit von Wissenschaft und Forschung: insbesondere die Billigung der Bonner Erklärung

Neben den genannten Schwerpunkten werden die Wissenschaftsministerinnen und -minister Themen der bisherigen G7-Agenda fortführen. Dazu gehören unter anderem Fragen der globalen Gesundheit, die gemeinsame Forschung und Entwicklung sauberer Energien und die Förderung der digitalen Bildung. Nähere Informationen sind auf der Website zur deutschen G7-Präsidentschaft verfügbar.

G20: Indonesien hat zum 1. Dezember 2021 die G20-Präsidentschaft übernommen. Unter dem Motto Recover Together, Recover Stronger strebt Indonesien Fortschritte in drei prioritären Themenfeldern an: Globale Gesundheit, Nachhaltige Energiewende und Digitale Transformation. Indonesien unterstreicht die Führungsrolle der G20 bei der Erholung nach der Corona-Pandemie. Die “Bekämpfung von Ungleichheiten” zieht sich als roter Faden durch die Gesamtagenda.

Im Themenbereich Bildung hat Indonesien vier Schwerpunkte gesetzt:

  • Universale und qualitative Bildung: Erreichung einer inklusiven und qualitativ hochwertigen Bildung für alle (SDG4)
  • Digitale Technologien in der Bildung: Ausbau digitaler Strukturen in den Schulen und Ausbildung der Lehrerinnen und Lehrer für die Nutzung digitaler Technologie;
  • Solidarität und Partnerschaften: stärkere Einbindung von Stakeholdern aus Politik, Forschung, Privatwirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft für die Verbesserung des Bildungs- und Ausbildungsangebots.
  • Die Zukunft der Arbeit Post-Covid: notwendige Anpassungen an einen sich wandelnden Arbeitsmarkt, lebenslanges Lernen, Inklusion und die Einbindung von Partnern aus der Wirtschaft.

Im Themenbereich Wissenschaft hat die indonesische Präsidentschaft zwei Schwerpunkte gesetzt:

  • stärkere Zusammenarbeit in Forschung und Innovation durch gemeinsame Nutzung von Einrichtungen, Infrastrukturen und Finanzmitteln, insbesondere bei der Biodiversität, marinen Forschung, erneuerbare Energien und Raumforschung/Geowissenschaften.
  • Nutzung der biologischen Vielfalt zur Unterstützung einer „grünen“ und „blauen“ Wirtschaft. Nähere Informationen sind auf der G20-Website verfügbar.

Gegenwärtig gibt es aufgrund des völkerrechtswidrigen Angriffskriegs Russlands auf die Ukraine Diskussionen darüber, Russland aus der G20 auszuschließen.

Struktur

Die „Gruppe der Sieben“ (G7) und die „Gruppe der Zwanzig“ (G20) sind informelle Zusammenschlüsse der Staats- und Regierungschefs aus den wichtigsten Industrie- und Schwellenländern. Die jährlich rotierende Präsidentschaft ist für die Gestaltung der Agenda des Gipfels und die Organisation aller weiteren (Fach-)Treffen verantwortlich. Die amtierende Präsidentschaft wird von der vorhergehenden und der nachfolgenden Präsidentschaft als Troika unterstützt. Jede Präsidentschaft wählt eigene Schwerpunktthemen aus, die von Fachministerinnen und -ministern besprochen werden. Oftmals wird die Präsidentschaft unter ein Motto gestellt. Vereinbarungen in beiden Zusammenschlüssen werden im Konsens getroffen. Gleichwohl haben sie keinen rechtlich bindenden Charakter. Beide Foren haben weder einen ständigen Hauptsitz, noch Büros oder Personal.

Die G7 und die G20 verstehen sich als Wertegemeinschaft für Frieden, Sicherheit und ein selbstbestimmtes Leben weltweit. Freiheit und Menschenrechte, Demokratie und Rechtsstaatlichkeit sowie Wohlstand und nachhaltige Entwicklung sind zentrale Grundsätze. Jedoch werden diese Begriffe besonders in den G20-Mitgliedsstaaten teils sehr unterschiedlich verstanden und gewährleistet, oder nicht eingehalten. Gegenwärtig gibt es daher aufgrund des herrschenden Angriffskriegs Russlands auf die Ukraine Diskussionen darüber, Russland aus der G20 auszuschließen (s.a. G20-Mitglieder).

Seit ihren Gründungen treffen sich die Staats- und Regierungschefs (der G7 und G20) auf Einladung der jeweiligen Präsidentschaft in der Regel jährlich und bieten die Möglichkeit, sich auszutauschen und gemeinsame Strategien zu bestimmten Themen abzustimmen. Die Themen und Erklärungen für den Gipfel werden von den Sherpas (persönliche Abgesandte der Staats- und Regierungschefs) vorbereitet.

In den Abschlusserklärungen der Gipfeltreffen einigen sich die Staats- und Regierungschefs auf gemeinsame Ziele, Aufgaben und Leitlinien. Deren Umsetzung ist in erster Linie in nationaler Verantwortung. Nach jedem Gipfel informiert die Bundesregierung die Ausschüsse des Deutschen Bundestages über die Ergebnisse. Die Berichte der Bundesregierung zu den G7/G8- und G20-Gipfeln der vergangenen Jahre sind unter "Berichte und Erklärungen der Bundesregierung" zu finden.

Mitglieder

G7-Mitglieder

Mitglieder der G7 sind Deutschland, Frankreich, Großbritannien, Italien, Japan, Kanada und die USA. Die Europäische Kommission hat einen ständigen Beobachterstatus, der sich im Laufe der Zeit ausgeweitet hat: Seit dem Ottawa-Gipfel im Jahr 1981 nimmt die EU-Kommission auch regelmäßig an allen Arbeitssitzungen teil. Die EU-Kommission wird als supranationale Organisation in der G7 nicht „mitgezählt“ und übernimmt auch nicht den rotierenden Vorsitz.

Karte G7 Staaten Kanada | seit 1976 (G7) USA | seit 1973 (G4) USA | seit 1973 (G4) Japan | seit 1973 (G5) Vereinigtes Königreich | seit 1973 (G4) Frankreich | seit 1973 (G4) (Bundesrepublik) Deutschland | seit 1973 (G4) Italien | seit 1975 (G6)

G7 Staaten © DLR

Nach der Verletzung der Souveränität und der territorialen Unversehrtheit der Ukraine bleibt Russland seit 2014 von der G8 ausgeschlossen.

Weitere (Gast-)Staaten und Institutionen können von der jeweiligen Präsidentschaft eingeladen werden.

G20-Mitglieder

Die G20 traf sich 1999 zum ersten Mal auf der Ebene der Finanzminister und Zentralbankgouverneure. 2008 trafen sich dann zum ersten Mal die Staatsoberhäupter der G20.

Das Forum besteht aus den Mitgliedern: Argentinien, Australien, Brasilien, China, Deutschland, der Europäischen Union, Frankreich, Großbritannien, Indien, Indonesien, Italien, Japan, Kanada, Mexiko, Russland, Saudi-Arabien, Südafrika, Südkorea, der Türkei und den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika. Spanien ist ein permanentes Gastland bei der G20.

Nach dem Angriffskriegs Russlands auf die Ukraine wird derzeit ein Ausschluss Russlands aus der G20 diskutiert. Ein dazu notwendiger einstimmiger Beschluss in diesem Sinne ist aufgrund der Haltung Chinas nicht zu erwarten. Nach aktuellem Stand stellen daher die G7- und EU-Mitgliedsstaaten unter den G20-Mitgliedern bei den G20-Treffen jeweils eine scharfe Verurteilung Russlands vor ihren Redebeitrag. Die Entscheidung, ob unter diesen Umständen eine gemeinsame Gipfelerklärung überhaupt abgefasst wird und ein abschließendes Treffen der Bildungs- und Wissenschaftsministerinnen und -minister sowie der Regierungschefs überhaupt zustande kommt, steht noch aus.

Karte G20 Staaten Kanada USA USA Japan Vereinigtes Königreich Frankreich Deutschland Italien Brasilien Argentinien Südafrika Australien Saudi-Arabien Türkei Mexiko Russland China Indien Indien Indonesien Südkorea

G20 Staaten © DLR

Neben den Mitgliedsstaaten wirken auf Einladung der Präsidentschaft noch weitere Staaten und Organisationen an der Arbeit der G20 mit. Regelmäßig Teilnehmende am G20-Prozess sind:

  • der Internationale Währungsfonds (IWF),
  • die Weltbank,
  • die VN mit ihren Sonderorganisationen wie zum Beispiel die Organisation der Vereinten Nationen für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Kultur (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)),
  • die Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (OECD),
  • die Welthandelsorganisation (WTO),
  • die Internationale Arbeitsorganisation (ILO),
  • der Finanzstabilitätsrat (FSB),
  • die Präsidentschaftsländer des Verbands Südostasiatischer Nationen (Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)), der Afrikanischen Union (AU) und des Entwicklungsprogramms Neue Partnerschaft für Afrikas Entwicklung (New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD)).

Präsidentschaften

Es ist Aufgabe des jeweiligen Präsidentschaftslandes inhaltliche Schwerpunkte zu setzen, die Agenda auszugestalten und die Sitzungen zu organisieren und vorzubereiten.

G7-Präsidentschaft

Deutschland war bereits in den Jahren 1978, 1985, 1992, 1999, 2007 und 2015 Gastgeber der G7/G8 und hat im Jahr 2022 erneut die Präsidentschaft übernommen.

Zeitstrahl G7 Ratspräsidentschaften

G7 Präsidentschaften © DLR

G20-Präsidentschaft

Die Präsidentschaft rotiert jährlich unter den Mitgliedern. Für die Rotation sind die Länder in regionale Gruppen aufgeteilt. Die Gruppe bestimmt intern, wer im jeweiligen Jahr den Vorsitz übernimmt.

Deutschland hatte bereits 1999, 2004 und 2007 den G20-Vorsitz inne und war 2017 auch Gastgeber für die Finanzministerinnen und -minister der G20.

Derzeit hat Indonesien die Präsidentschaft inne. Die G20-Präsidentschaften von 2015 bis 2024 verteilen sich folgendermaßen:

Zeitstrahl G20 Ratspräsidentschaften

G20 Präsidentschaften © DLR

Themen

Es ist Aufgabe des jeweiligen Präsidentschaftslandes inhaltliche Schwerpunkte zu setzen. Gleichzeitig wird häufig auf Beschlüsse aus früheren Jahren Bezug genommen, so dass man von einer G7-Agenda und G20-Agenda sprechen kann.

G7-Themen

Beim jährlichen G7-Gipfel tagen die Staats- und Regierungschefs zu Themen, die von der jeweiligen Präsidentschaft vorgegeben werden. Angesichts der ökonomischen Probleme in den 1970er-Jahren – erste Ölkrise und Zusammenbruch des Systems der festen Wechselkurse (Bretton Woods) – diente das Treffen ursprünglich zur Entwicklung von Lösungsansätzen in der internationalen Wirtschaftspolitik, um dem anhaltenden weltweiten Abschwung zu begegnen.
Die G7 hat im Laufe der Zeit ihre Agenda erweitert, so dass sie mittlerweile ein großes Spektrum globaler Fragestellungen abdeckt. Einige Themen finden dabei regelmäßig Eingang in die Agenda, wie bspw. Weltwirtschaft und Handel, Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik, Entwicklungspolitik und Ernährungssicherung, Klima und Energie sowie Arbeit und Soziales.

Im Folgenden werden die Themenschwerpunkte der letzten G7-Treffen der Fachministerinnen und -minister in den Bereichen Bildung und Wissenschaft aufgeführt:

2022: Deutschland

G7-Treffen der Wissenschaftsministerinnen und -minister, 12.-14. Juni, Frankfurt

  • Forschung zu Post-Covid
  • Forschung zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels
  • Schutz der Freiheit, Integrität und Sicherheit von Wissenschaft und Forschung

2021: Großbritannien

  • Verabschiedung des Forschungspakts als Anhang der Gipfel-Erklärung, 11.-13. Juni

G7-Treffen der Wissenschaftsministerinnen und -minister, 13. Juli, virtuell

  • Chancengerechtigkeit, inklusive Forschungssysteme
  • Forschungssicherheit/ -integrität
  • Open Science

2020: USA

G7-Sondertreffen der Wissenschafts- und Technologieministerinnen und -minisiter, 28. Mai, virtuell

  • Gemeinsame G7-Wissenschafts- und Technologieerklärung zu COVID-19
  • Zusammenarbeit gemeinsamer prioritärer COVID-19 Forschungsschwerpunkte
  • Zugang zu Daten: gemeinsame Nutzung von Höchstleistungsrechnern, Global Partnership on Articificial Intelligence (GPAI)
  • Innovative Lösungsansätze zur Bewältigung der Pandemie

2019: Frankreich

G7-Treffen der Bildungsministerinnen und -minister, 04. Juli, Paris

  • Abschlusserklärung zur frühkindlichen Bildung und Professionalisierung der Lehrerausbildung
  • Kommuniqué zur Bekämpfung von Mobbing an Schulen

G7-Treffen der-Bildungs- und Entwicklungsministerinnen und -minister, 05. Juli, Paris

  • Bildung für Mädchen
  • Berufsausbildung zur Unterstützung der sozialen und professionellen Eingliederung

2018: Kanada

kein Ministertreffen Treffen zum Thema Bildung und Forschung

2017: Italien

G7-Treffen der Wissenschaftsministerinnen und -minister, 28.-29. September, Turin

  • Die Qualifizierung von Arbeitskräften für Forschung und Innovation (F&I)
  • Die Rolle der Forschung bei der Förderung von Zukunftstechnologien, Innovationen und ihre Finanzierungsmechanismen
  • Globale Forschungsinfrastrukturen und Zugang zu Daten

Die gemeinsamen Erklärungen der G7-Wissenschaftsministerinnen und -minister sind online einsehbar. Aktuell gibt es vier G7-Arbeitsgruppen im Bereich Wissenschaft und Forschung, welche an kontinuierlichen globalen Themen arbeiten.

Arbeitsgruppe
Vorsitz
Gründungsjahr
Security and Integrity of the Research Ecosystem  Großbritannien, Kanada 2021
Open Science Japan, EU
2016
Future of the Seas and Oceans Großbritannien 2015
GSO Global Research Infrastructures derzeit China (zusammen mit Großbritannien) 2013

G20-Themen

Die G20 konzentrierte sich bei ihrer Gründung 1999 zunächst auf die Reformen zur Regulierung der Finanzmärkte und des internationalen Währungssystems sowie die makroökonomische Zusammenarbeit der G20-Länder. Inzwischen ist die Agenda der G20, ähnlich wie die Agenda der G7, auf viele weitere Themenfelder ausgedehnt worden.

Neben den Schwerpunktthemen Wirtschaft und Finanzen stehen auf der Agenda regelmäßig die Politikfelder:

  • Finanzen und die Folgen für die Weltwirtschaft
  • Globale Gesundheit
  • Klimawandel und Umwelt
  • Agrarwirtschaft und Wasser
  • Digitalisierung
  • Energie
  • Entwicklung
  • Bildung
  • Arbeit und Beschäftigung
  • Gleichberechtigung von Mann und Frau

Infolge des ersten G20-Digitalministertreffens im Jahr 2017 in Deutschland, haben auch die Themen Digitalisierung und Künstliche Intelligenz zunehmend an Bedeutung gewonnen. Aufgrund der thematischen Breite der G20 ergibt sich eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Arbeitsgruppen und Treffen.

2018 setzte Argentinien das Thema Bildung erstmals auf die Agenda. 2022 setzte Indonesien Forschung und Innovation erstmals auf die Agenda.

Im Folgenden werden die Themenschwerpunkte der letzten G20-Treffen der Fachministerinnen und -minister in den Bereichen Bildung und Wissenschaft aufgeführt:

2022: Indonesien

G20-Treffen der Bildungsministerinnen und -minister, 26. Juli, Bali

  • Universelle und qualitative Bildung
  • Digitale Technologien im Bildungswesen
  • Solidarität und Partnerschaften
  • Zukunft der Arbeit nach Covid-19

G20-Treffen der Wissenschaftsministerinnen und -minister, 30. August, Jakarta

  • Verstärkte Zusammenarbeit in Forschung und Innovation durch gemeinsame Nutzung von Einrichtungen, Infrastrukturen und Finanzmitteln
  • Nutzung der biologischen Vielfalt zur Unterstützung der grünen und blauen Wirtschaft

2021: Italien

G20- Treffen der Bildungsministerinnen und -minister, 22. Juni, hybrid

G20-Treffen der Bildungs- und Arbeitsministerinnen und -minister, 22. Juni, hybrid

G20-Treffen der Forschungs- und Hochschulministerinnen und -minister, 06. August, hybrid

2020: Saudi-Arabien

G20-Treffen der Bildungsministerinnen und -minister zu COVID-19, 29. Juni, virtuell

  • Als Folge der Pandemie: Austausch zur globalen Unterbrechung der Bildung und möglichen Lösungsmöglichkeiten
  • Gerechter Zugang zu Bildung durch mehr Digitalisierung und weitere „distance-learning“-Konzepte
  • Veränderte Internationalisierung in der Bildung

G20-Treffen der Bildungsministerinnen und -minister, 05. September, virtuell

  • Bildungskontinuität
  • Frühkindliche Bildung
  • Internationalisierung in der Bildung

2019: Japan

kein Treffen zum Thema Bildung und Forschung

2018: Argentinien

G20-Treffen der Bildungs- und Arbeitsministerinnen und -minister, 05. September, Mendoza

  • Fähigkeiten für die Zukunft (Skills for the future)
  • Bildungsfinanzierung (Financing Education)
  • Internationale Zusammenarbeit in der Bildung (Internationalisation in education)

In Vorbereitung auf das erste Treffen derG20-Bildungsministerinnen und -ministertreffen wurde die Arbeitsgruppe „Bildung“ (Education Working Group, EdWG) gegründet.

2017: Deutschland

kein Treffen zum Thema Bildung und Forschung

Zusammenarbeit mit der Zivilgesellschaft

Der Dialog mit Interessenvertreterinnen und -vertretern aus Wirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft und Forschung wird von den Staats- und Regierungschefs aktiv gesucht und unterstützt. Diese Gruppen leisten einen wichtigen Beitrag, um die Themen der G7 und der G20 partizipativ in die Gesellschaft zu tragen und wiederum Empfehlungen zu geben. Die Gruppen verständigen sich auf ein Positionspapier mit Handlungsempfehlungen und können auf diesem Weg Einfluss nehmen. So haben sich aus verschiedenen Nichtregierungsorganisationen u.a. folgende Gruppen in diesem Kontext gegründet:

  • Business: B7 bzw. B20,
  • Civil: C7 bzw. C20,
  • Labour: L7 bzw. L20,
  • Science: S7 bzw. S20,
  • Think (tanks): T7 bzw. T20,
  • Universities: U7 Alliance,
  • Women: W7 bzw. W20,
  • Youth: Y7 bzw. Y20.

Die Gruppen bestehen jeweils aus Expertinnen und Experten aller G7 bzw. G20 Länder. Im Bereich Wissenschaft (S7/S20) vertritt beispielsweise die Leopoldina Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften die deutsche Wissenschaft und erarbeitet zu entsprechenden Themen gemeinsame Stellungnahmen und Empfehlungen für die Treffen der Fachministerinnen und -minister und Gipfel.

Das Internationale Büro unterstützt das BMBF in seiner Zusammenarbeit mit G7 und G20 in den Bereichen Bildung und Forschung.