ERAfrica - Developing African-European Joint Collaboration for Science and Technology

The intensification and coordination of the research policy cooperation between the EU and Africa is one of the main aims of the ERA.NET with Africa (ERAfrica), which has been funded as part of the 7th EU-Framework Programme for Research by the EU-Commission since December 2010 for a period of three years.

Logo

Within the framework of the Federal Government’s strategy on the internationalisation of science and research, Germany makes an effective contribution to strengthen its role as an important cooperation partner in the fight against global challenges and to establish itself as a partner of future new science and knowledge centres in developing countries. A further aim of the ERAfrica – the first ERA.NET with African participation – besides the establishment of an adequate framework for the strategic cooperation is the long-term development of joint research funding instruments in the bilateral/ multilateral cooperation between Europe and Africa, e.g. the preparation and implementation of joint announcements as well as strengthening Africa’s research capabilities.

On behalf of the BMBF the International Bureau participates along with other 11 European and African partners in the ERA.NET with Africa, which is funded with approximately 2 million Euro by the 7th EU-FP. Currently, ministries and organisations of the research funding from 12 countries are taking part: 7 EU-member states (Belgium, Germany, Finland, France, Austria, Portugal, Spain), 3 African states (Egypt, Kenya, South Africa), Switzerland and Turkey.

Partner

Project structure

ERAfrica is divided into five work packages (WP) being developed by the end of the project’s duration and each being coordinated by different partners:

  • WP 1: Development of analysis, monitoring and review activities in the area of science and technology in Europe and Africa (Leader of WP: TEM, Finland)
  • WP 2: Promoting the exchange of information between Europe and Africa, mobilising other project partners (Leader of WP: DST, South Africa)
  • WP 3: Development of a strategy for joint funding activities (Leader of WP: MHESR, Egypt)
  • WP 4: Implementation and evaluation of joint activities (Leader of WP: DLR Project Management Agency, Germany)
  • WP 5: Project organisation and management (Leader of WP: IRD, France)

ERAfrica - Developing African-European Joint Collaboration for Science and Technology

Die Intensivierung und Koordinierung der forschungspolitischen Zusammenarbeit zwischen der EU und Afrika war eines der Hauptziele des ERA.NET mit Afrika (ERAfrica), das von der EU-Kommission im Rahmen des 7. EU-Forschungsrahmenprogramms ab Dezember 2010 für die Dauer von drei Jahren gefördert wurde.

Logo

Im Rahmen der Strategie der Bundesregierung zur Internationalisierung von Wissenschaft und Forschung trägt Deutschland nachhaltig dazu bei, seine Rolle als wichtiger Kooperationspartner in der weltweiten Bekämpfung globaler Herausforderungen zu stärken und sich als Partner zukünftiger neuer Wissenschafts- und Wissenszentren in Entwicklungsländern zu etablieren. Ein weiteres Ziel von ERAfrica - dem ersten ERA.NET mit afrikanischer Beteiligung - war, neben dem Aufbau eines angemessenen Rahmens für die strategische Kooperation, die langfristige Entwicklung gemeinsamer Instrumente der Forschungsförderung in der bilateralen/multilateralen Zusammenarbeit zwischen Europa und Afrika, wie zum Beispiel die Vorbereitung und Durchführung gemeinsamer Bekanntmachungen sowie die Stärkung der Forschungskapazitäten Afrikas.

Das ERA.NET mit Afrika, an dem sich im Auftrag des BMBF das Internationale Büro gemeinsam mit weiteren 11 europäischen und afrikanischen Partnern beteiligte, wurde mit rund 2 Mio. Euro im 7. EU-FRP gefördert. Beteiligt waren Ministerien und Organisationen der Forschungsförderung aus zwölf Ländern, davon sieben EU-Staaten (Belgien, Deutschland, Finnland, Frankreich, Österreich, Portugal, Spanien), drei afrikanischen Staaten (Ägypten, Kenia, Südafrika) sowie Schweiz und Türkei.

Partner

Projektstruktur

Die Aufgaben des ERAfrica-Projekts waren in fünf Arbeitspakete (AP) eingeteilt, deren Bearbeitung sich über die gesamte Laufzeit des Projekts erstreckte und die von jeweils unterschiedlichen Projektpartnern koordiniert wurden:

  • AP 1: Erarbeitung von Analysen, Monitoring- und Reviewaktivitäten im Bereich Wissenschaft und Technologie in Europa und Afrika (Leiter AP: TEM, Finnland)
  • AP 2: Förderung des Informationsaustausches zwischen Europa und Afrika, Mobili­sierung weiterer Projektpartner (Leiter AP: DST, Südafrika)
  • AP 3: Erarbeitung einer Strategie für gemeinsame Förderaktivitäten (Leiter AP: MHESR, Ägypten)
  • AP 4: Umsetzung und Evaluierung gemeinsamer Aktivitäten (Leiter AP: DLR Project Management Agency, Deutschland)
  • AP 5: Projektorganisation und -management (Leiter AP: IRD, Frankreich)