Strategic Forum for International S&T Cooperation

The Strategic Forum for International S&T Cooperation (SFIC) contributes to the internationalisation of the European Research Area. It is here that the EU Commission, the EU Member States and the Associated States to the EU Research Framework Programmes exchange their views on international research and innovation activities and seek to pool them in a meaningful way.

team in a tug-of-war pulling the rope

© DragonImages / iStock / Thinkstock

The role of the SFIC: Strategic development and political coordination

SFIC is an advisory group consisting of representatives of the EU Commission, EU Member States (Members) and Associated States (Observers). It advises both the Council and the Commission. The main tasks of SFIC include:

  • setting priorities for international research and innovation cooperation, on the one hand by using a long-term strategy and on the other hand by employing concrete activities
  • identifying research and innovation strengths in Europe to meet global challenges
  • acting as agent and coordinator between commission and member states
  • fostering horizontal policy coordination at national and European level
  • driving mutual exchange and enabling learning from each other

SFIC identifies complementary activities of individual Member States and the Commission and seeks to create "European added value". By opening up national programmes, setting similar priorities in bilateral cooperation or linking initiatives at the political level, cooperation is put into practice.

Most of the SFIC representatives come from the research ministries of the Member Sates or Associated Countries. For Germany, this is the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). The International Bureau closely supports the BMBF with the cooperation in SFIC. This cooperation ranges from the preparation and follow-up of meetings to national coordination processes.

How SFIC works

In its communication dated 24 September 2008, the Commission drafted a strategic framework for international cooperation in science and technology. This was approved by the European Council on 2 December 2008 resulting in the implementation of a strategy forum for international STI cooperation (SFIC – Strategic Forum for International S&T Cooperation). 

Representatives of the MS and the EU get together four times a year in a plenary meeting at the Council Building in Brussels. The meetings are led by SFIC's Chairperson and supported by the SFIC Council Secretariat. SFIC activities are initiated by one or several members of the plenary meeting and then further developed by working groups. The groups meet based on a variable geometry and are managed by one of their members ('rapporteur'); their objective is defined by a mandate. They meet in phone or video conferences or in person and regularly report to the plenary meeting. The plenary meetings are prepared by the SFIC Steering Board, which consists of the SFIC Secretariat, the SFIC Chair, the Deputy Chair and interested SFIC members.

SFIC working groups

With the founding of the first working groups in SFIC, a focus on countries rather than on tools or thematic priorities has prevailed. Accordingly, SFIC has already had working groups on Brazil, China, India, Russia and the USA. The country working groups developed measures to achieve specific objectives in research cooperation with the given country. Strategic research agendas with thematic priorities were developed, e.g. by seeking the dialogue with the international partner country, involving European science officers, and incorporating relevant EU thematic projects, joint programming or national initiatives. The mandates of the country related working groups have now expired.

Since 2015, there has been another type of working group without a geographical focus: The so-called "toolbox" working group aims to develop a guideline with national instruments for international cooperation. The working group has already carried out various activities to prepare the guideline. These included a survey among the Member States and the Associated States, which systematically evaluated the currently used tools. In addition, the survey studied preferred target countries as well as topics of international STI cooperation. Furthermore, the working group organised several workshops in which different stakeholders discussed their experiences with different instruments and identified examples of successful cooperation. The results of these activities will be included in the guideline, which is expected to be published by the end of 2018.

Policy dialogue with international partner countries

SFIC also realises 'European added value' by organising policy dialogue processes with international partner countries and regions in cooperation with the Commission and the European External Action Service. Such 'Senior Official Meetings' (SOMs) exist for the Latin American Caribbean (EU-CELAC), Africa (EU-AU), the Mediterranean region (EUMED), the Balkan region and South-Eastern Europe, the EU's Eastern Neighbours (EU EaP), Southeast Asia (EU-ASEAN) and India (EU-India GSO). Their purpose ist to foster exchange and strengthen the political partnership in research and innovation. In the context of these processes, SFIC actively seeks to prepare a coordinated pan-European position.

The SFIC partnership and coordination provides greater coherence between the activities of the Member States and the EU, which is appreciated particularly by the major international partner countries. This applies both in the context of the EU policy dialogue and to the national STI cooperation with specific partner countries, which is supplemented by the knowledge of the priorities of other MS and the EU. The collaboration of SFIC members also helps in drawing greater attention to the international aspects of research and innovation cooperation at European summits and ministerial meetings.

Strengthening the European Research Area

SFIC is shaping the international dimension of the ERA by engaging in coordination processes with the Commission to further develop ERA structures. SFIC makes recommendations to the Council and the Commission. SFIC offers the Council and the Commission recommendations such as in relation to the tools used within EU research funding, on designing the work programmes of Horizon2020, and linking the activities of other ERA groups or EU-funded projects with SFIC initiatives. This also includes recommendations on indicators to measure the success of international STI collaboration.

SFIC Chair

Since October 2016, Rozenn Saunier (France) has been the Chairwoman of SFIC. She is the Deputy Director of the European and International Cooperation Department of the French Ministry of Education, Higher Education and Research. The Chair is elected every three years by the SFIC members. So far, Germany (MinDir Volker Rieke, Federal Ministry of Education and Research, 2009-11), Finland (Dr. Riita Mustonen, Academy of Finland, 2011-13) and most recently Sweden (Dan Andrée, VINNOVA office in Brussels, 2013-16 ) chaired the panel. The Deputy Chair is from a diffferent member state and elected for a divergent time period. Since March 2017, Tiina Vihma-Purovaara from the Finnish Ministry of Education, Science and Culture has been Deputy Chair.

Resources

Financial, structural and staff resources of SFIC come from national and EU sources. All members act on the basis of a so-called 'variable geometry', i.e. they do not have to unanimously support every initiative, but only those that are also relevant to their national goals and policy priorities. In addition, SFIC's core task is to bundle existing initiatives, projects and funds in a meaningful way so that no additional funds are needed.

Strategic Forum for International S&T Cooperation

Das Strategieforum für Internationale Zusammenarbeit in Wissenschaft und Technologie (SFIC) trägt zur Internationalisierung des Europäischen Forschungsraums bei. Die EU-Kommission, die EU-Mitgliedstaaten und die zum EU-Forschungsrahmenprogramm Assoziierten Staaten tauschen sich über internationale Forschungs- und Innovationsaktivitäten aus und versuchen diese sinnvoll zu bündeln.

Ein Team bei dem alle an einem Strang ziehen

© DragonImages / iStock / Thinkstock

SFICs Rolle: Strategieentwicklung und politische Koordination

SFIC ist ein Empfehlungsgremium aus EU-Kommission, EU-Mitgliedstaaten (Mitglieder) sowie Assoziierten Staaten (Beobachter). Es berät den Rat und die Kommission. Zu diesem Zweck verfolgt SFIC schwerpunktmäßig die folgenden Aufgaben:

  • Prioritäten für internationale Forschungs- und Innovationskooperation zu setzen, mit Hilfe einer langfristigen Strategie einerseits und konkreten Aktivitäten andererseits
  • Stärken Europas in Forschung und Innovation zu identifizieren, um den globalen Herausforderungen zu begegnen
  • Vermittler und Koordinierungsstelle zwischen Kommission und Mitgliedstaaten zu sein
  • Horizontale Politikkoordination auf nationaler und europäischer Ebene zu fördern
  • Austausch untereinander voran zu treiben und gegenseitiges Lernen zu ermöglichen

SFIC identifiziert sich ergänzende Aktivitäten einzelner Mitgliedstaaten und der Kommission und versucht, daraus einen „europäischen Mehrwert“ zu bilden. Durch Öffnen nationaler Programme, ähnliche Schwerpunktsetzung in bilateralen Kooperationen oder Verknüpfung von Initiativen auf politischer Ebene wird Zusammenarbeit in die Praxis umgesetzt.

In SFIC sitzen zumeist Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der Forschungsministerien der Länder. Für Deutschland ist dies das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF). Das Internationale Büro unterstützt das BMBF in sehr enger Zusammenarbeit bei der Mitarbeit in SFIC. Diese Mitarbeit reicht von der Vorbereitung und Nachbereitung von Sitzungen bis hin zu nationalen Abstimmungsprozessen.

SFICs Funktionsweise

Die Kommission hat in ihrer Mitteilung vom 24.9.2008 einen strategischen Rahmen für die internationale Kooperation in Forschung und Technologie formuliert, der vom Europäischen Rat am 02.12.2008 mit der Schlussfolgerung zur Etablierung eines Strategieforums für die internationale Wissenschaftskooperation (SFIC – Strategic Forum for International S&T Cooperation) umgesetzt wurde.

SFIC tagt vier Mal jährlich im Plenum im Gebäude des Rates in Brüssel unter Leitung seines Vorsitzes und mit Unterstützung des SFIC-Ratssekretariates. SFIC-Aktivitäten werden auf Initiative eines oder mehrerer Mitglieder im Plenum angestoßen und dann in Arbeitsgruppen konkretisiert. Die Gruppen finden sich in variabler Geometrie unter Leitung eines Mitglieds zusammen. Sie verfolgen ein per Mandat definiertes Ziel. Sie tagen per Videokonferenz oder persönlich und berichten in regelmäßigen Abständen an das Plenum. Die Plenarsitzungen werden vom SFIC Steering Board vorbereitet, an dem das SFIC-Sekretariat, der SFIC-Vorsitz, der stellvertretende Vorsitz und vereinzelte SFIC-Mitglieder teilnehmen.

SFIC Arbeitsgruppen

Mit Gründung der ersten Arbeitsgruppen in SFIC, hat sich eine Fokussierung auf Länder durchgesetzt. Dementsprechend gab es in SFIC bereits Arbeitsgruppen zu Brasilien, China, Indien, Russland und USA. Die Länder-Arbeitsgruppen erarbeiteten Maßnahmen, um bestimmte Ziele in der Forschungszusammenarbeit mit dem gegebenen Land zu erreichen. So wurden beispielsweise Strategische Forschungsagenden mit thematischen Schwerpunkten erarbeitet, gemeinsam der Dialog mit dem internationalen Partnerland gesucht, die europäischen Wissenschaftsreferenten dort eingebunden, mit relevanten thematischen EU-Projekten, Joint Programming oder nationalen Initiativen zusammengearbeitet. Die Mandate der Länder-Arbeitsgruppen sind inzwischen ausgelaufen.

Seit 2015 existiert eine weitere Arbeitsgruppe ohne geographischen Schwerpunkt: die sogenannte „Toolbox“-Arbeitsgruppe. Sie sieht die Entwicklung eines Leitfadens mit nationalen Instrumenten der internationalen Zusammenarbeit vor. Zur Erstellung des Leitfadens führte die Arbeitsgruppe unterschiedliche Aktivitäten durch. Dazu gehört unter anderem eine Umfrage unter den Mitgliedstaaten und den Assoziierten Staaten, die verwendete Instrumente systematisch abfragt. Darüber hinaus wurden favorisierte Zielländer sowie Themen der internationalen FuI-Zusammenarbeit abgefragt. Ferner organisierte die Arbeitsgruppe mehrere Workshops, bei denen unterschiedliche Stakeholder ihre Erfahrungen mit verschieden Instrumente diskutierten und Beispiele für gelungene Kooperation identifizierten. Die Ergebnisse dieser Aktivitäten sollen Eingang in den Leitfaden finden, der voraussichtlich Ende 2018 veröffentlicht werden soll.

Politikdialoge mit internationalen Partnerländern

SFIC realisiert den „europäischen Mehrwert“ auch indem es gemeinsam mit der Kommission und dem Europäischen Auswärtigen Dienst politische Dialogprozesse mit internationalen Partnerländern und -regionen gestaltet. Solche hochrangigen regelmäßigen Dialogprozesse (Senior Officials Meeting, SOM) existieren für Lateinamerika-Karibik (EU-CELAC), Afrika (EU-AU), die Mittelmeerregion (EUMED), die Balkanregion bzw. Südosteuropa, die östlichen Nachbarstaaten der EU (EU-EaP), Südostasien (EU-ASEAN) und Indien (EU-India GSO). Sie dienen dem Austausch und der Stärkung der politischen Partnerschaft in Forschung und Innovation. Für diese Dialoge versucht SFIC aktiv eine abgestimmte gesamteuropäische Position vorzubereiten.

Durch die Partnerschaft und Abstimmung im Rahmen von SFIC ist eine höhere Kohärenz zwischen den Aktivitäten der Mitgliedstaaten und der EU gegeben, die insbesondere von großen internationalen Partnerländern geschätzt wird. Dies gilt sowohl im Rahmen der EU-Politikdialoge als auch für die nationale WTZ-Zusammenarbeit mit einem bestimmten Partnerland. Die Zusammenarbeit der SFIC-Mitglieder hilft außerdem dabei, internationale Aspekte von Forschungs- und Innovationszusammenarbeit bei europäischen Gipfeln und Ministertreffen zunehmend in den Mittelpunkt zu rücken.

Stärkung des Europäischen Forschungsraums

SFIC gestaltet die Internationale Dimension des EFR mit, indem es sich in Abstimmungsprozesse mit der Kommission zur Weiterentwicklung der EFR-Strukturen einbringt. SFIC spricht Empfehlungen an den Rat und die Kommission aus. Die Empfehlungen beziehen sich beispielsweise auf das Instrumentarium innerhalb der EU-Forschungsförderung, die Gestaltung der Arbeitsprogramme in Horizont 2020, die Verknüpfung von Aktivitäten anderer EFR-Gruppen oder EU-geförderter Projekte mit SFIC-Initiativen. Auch die Messung der internationalen FuE-Zusammenarbeit sowie ihre Indikatoren werden dabei berücksichtigt.

SFIC-Vorsitz

Seit Oktober 2016 hat die Französin Rozenn Saunier den SFIC-Vorsitz inne. Sie leitet stellvertretend die Abteilung für europäische und internationale Zusammenarbeit im französischen Ministerium für Bildung, Hochschulbildung und Forschung. Der Vorsitz wird alle drei Jahre von den SFIC-Mitgliedern gewählt. Bislang saßen Deutschland (MinDir Volker Rieke, Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, 2009-11), Finnland (Dr. Riita Mustonen, Academy of Finland, 2011-13) und zuletzt Schweden (Dan Andrée, VINNOVA-Büro in Brüssel, 2013-16) dem Gremium vor. Der stellvertretende Vorsitz wird von einem anderen Mitgliedstaat ausgeübt und zeitversetzt gewählt. Seit März 2017 ist Tiina Vihma-Purovaara aus dem finnischen Ministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Kultur stellvertretende Vorsitzende von SFIC.

Ressourcen

Finanzielle, strukturelle und personelle Ressourcen von SFIC kommen aus nationalen und EU-Quellen. Alle Mitglieder agieren auf der Basis der variablen Geometrie, d.h. sie müssen nicht jede Initiative einstimmig mittragen, sondern nur die, die auch für die nationalen Ziele und die politische Schwerpunktsetzung relevant sind. Außerdem ist Kernaufgabe von SFIC, bestehende Initiativen, Projekte und Mittel sinnvoll zu bündeln, so dass keine zusätzlichen Mittel benötig werden.