Kick-off Conference 'Make Our Planet Great Again'

This conference marks the official launch of the international research initiative 'MOPGA - Make Our Planet Great Again' in France and Germany. The Conference will be opened by the Frédérique Vidal, French Minister for Higher Education, Research and Innovation, and by Anja Karliczek, German Federal Minister for Education and Research.

30 September - 1 October 2019 | Paris

The programme, designed by the Federal German Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), traces back to an initiative by the French president Emmanuel Macron. With their commitment, both countries support the aims of the Paris Climate Agreement and recognise climate change as an urgent global challenge.

MOPGA invites scientists  to do research on the functioning of the Earth system, climate change, sustainable development and energy transition. The primary objective of the programme is to propose mitigation and adaptation strategies for societies, as provided for in the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

This implies the development of high-level research teams, ranging from basic research projects to solution-oriented research projects, bringing together scientists with international scope. To answer those challenges, 55 projects combining foreign researchers and French and German research teams were selected.

More details

Conference website

Contact

Ulrike Kunze
Tel. +49 30 67055 7981
ulrike.kunze@dlr.de

Kick-off Conference "Make Our Planet Great Again"

Diese Konferenz markiert den offiziellen Programmstart der internationalen Forschungsinitiative "MOPGA - Make Our Planet Great Again" in Frankreich und Deutschland.  Eröffnet wir die Veranstaltung von der französischen Ministerin für Hochschulbildung, Forschung und Innovation Frédérique Vidal und von der deutschen Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung Anja Karliczek.

30. September - 1. Oktober 2019 | Paris

Das vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) entwickelte neue Förderprogramm geht auf eine Initiative des französischen Staatspräsidenten Emmanuel Macron zurück. Mit ihrem Engagement wollen beide Länder zur Erreichung der Klimaziele beitragen und sich ihrer Verantwortung im Bereich des Klimawandels als drängender globaler Herausforderung stellen.

Das Programm MOPGA lädt Wissenschaftlerinnen  und Wissenschaftler ein, Forschungsarbeiten zur Funktionsweise des Systems Erde, zum Klimawandel, zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung und zur Energiewende durchzuführen. So sollen gesellschaftliche Strategien zur Anpassung und Risikominimierung entwickelt werden, wie sie in den Zielen der Vereinten Nationen für nachhaltige Entwicklung beschrieben sind.

Dies setzt die Zusammenstellung hochrangiger Forschungsteams mit internationaler Reichweite voraus, deren Aktivitäten von der Grundlagenforschung bis hin zu lösungsorientierten Forschungsprojekten reichen. Um den anstehenden Herausforderungen zu begegnen, wurden 55 Projekte ausgewählt, in denen internationale Forscherteams mit deutscher und französicher Beteiligung zusammenarbeiten.

Weitere Informationen

Konferenzwebseite

Kontakt

Ulrike Kunze
Tel. +49 30 67055 7981
ulrike.kunze@dlr.de