BILAT USA 4.0

BILAT USA 4.0 is aimed at supporting and driving the economic, research and innovation cooperation between the EU and the USA.

As the follow-up project to BILAT USA 2.0, BILAT USA 4.0 strengthens the economic, research and innovation cooperation between the EU and the USA. BILAT USA 4.0 is a coordination and support measure (CSA), which is funded in the context of Horizon 2020, the European Union framework programme for research and innovation. Focusing on the objective of an intensified EU-US cooperation, BILAT USA 4.0 enables greater bi-regional exchange between scientists, researchers and innovation actors at conferences and work meetings with the aim of improving the framework conditions for the cooperation. It also comprises various studies and analyses of the status quo of research and innovation cooperation.

The project is split into six work packages, which in turn are split into different sub-tasks:

Schaubild zu Arbeitspaketen von BILAT USA 4.0
Project structure of BILAT USA 4.0 (incl. target groups)

Work package 1 – “Supporting research and innovation policy processes”:
this work package covers flexible and adhoc support for political organisations and committees (such as the Strategy Forum for International Science and Technology Cooperation (SFIC), the harmonisation of European Commission funding programmes with those of the member states or associated states relevant to the USA as well as the attempt to set up a National Contact System (NKS) for applications to Horizon 2020 in the USA.

Work package 2  –  “Funding the EU-US cooperation in prioritised science areas“:
Work package 2 relates to funding for the prioritised EN-US cooperation areas, i.e. marine and Arctic research, health and transport research as well as nanotechnology and materials research. This work package will organise a total of at least six workshops and conferences in the above areas in order to offer scientists a forum for discussions and to draw their attention to the financing options.  In addition, “Terminology Guidelines” will be developed to overcome the linguistic differences in EU and US project funding.

Work package 3  – “Identification of new promising R&D topics for EU-US cooperation“:
In addition to the prioritised R&D areas of the EU-US cooperation, work package 3 focuses on identifying new research and innovation topics with great potential. New fields with great potential and benefits for the EU-US cooperation are determined and discussed with scientists from the EU and the USA in different workshops and at different events.

Work package 4  – “Innovation actors in the transatlantic R&D cooperation”
Work package 4 intensifies the cooperation between academic actors and actors from industry and adds to the transatlantic internationalisation of companies using the following activities: identification, analysis and propagation of “best practices” for the EU-US cooperation of academia and industry, official visit clusters (topic-based) to the USA and Europe, the implementation of a funding announcement in order to bring together innovation actors from a specific area and to drive innovation cooperation.

Work package 5  – “Dissemination and communication”
Work package 5 aims at developing an effective communication strategy and adequate means to distribute information. This e.g. includes: developing a project website, using and setting up social media channels, providing a database with financing options for researchers and scientists, compiling newsletters, press releases etc.

Work package 6  – “Project management and quality assurance”:
Work package 6 looks at a financial and administrative project implementation and at standardised quality assurance for project activities, project reports and deliverables.

overview EU cooperations with third countries

BILAT USA 4.0

BILAT USA 4.0 zielt darauf ab, die Wissenschafts-, Forschungs- und Innovationszusammenarbeit zwischen der EU und den USA zu unterstützen und voranzutreiben.

Als Nachfolgeprojekt von BILAT USA 2.0 stärkt das BILAT USA 4.0 Projekt die Wissenschafts-, Forschungs- und Innovationszusammenarbeit zwischen der EU und den USA. BILAT USA 4.0 ist eine Koordinierungs- und Unterstützungsmaßnahme (CSA), die im Rahmen von Horizont 2020, dem Rahmenprogramm der Europäischen Union für Forschung und Innovation, gefördert wird. Das Ziel einer verstärkten EU-US Zusammenarbeit im Blick ermöglicht BILAT USA 4.0 einen verstärkten bi-regionalen Austausch zwischen Wissenschaftlern, Forschern und Innovationsakteuren,  Konferenzen und Arbeitstreffen in Hinblick auf die Verbesserung von Rahmenbedingungen für die Kooperation sowie verschiedene Studien und Analysen zum Status-quo der Forschungs- und Innovationszusammenarbeit.

Das Projekt untergliedert sich in sechs Arbeitspakete (AP), die jeweils in verschiedene Unteraufgaben gegliedert sind:

Schaubild zu Arbeitspaketen von BILAT USA 4.0

Arbeitspaket 1 – „Unterstützung der forschungs- und innovationspolitischen Prozesse“:
dieses AP umfasst die flexible und ad-hoc Unterstützung von politischen Organisationen und Gremien (wie z.B. vom Strategieforum für Internationale Wissenschafts- und Technologiezusammenarbeit (SFIC), die Harmonisierung von Förderprogrammen der Europäischen Kommission mit denen der Mitgliedstaaten bzw. Assoziierten Staaten mit Relevanz für die USA sowie den Versuch des Aufbaus eines Nationalen Kontaktstellensystems (NKS) zur Bewerbung von Horizont 2020 in den USA.

Arbeitspaket 2  –  „Förderung der EU-US Zusammenarbeit in prioritären Wissenschaftsbereichen“:
AP2 bezieht sich auf die Förderung der prioritären EU-US Kooperationsbereiche, d.h. die Marine- und Arktisforschung, die Gesundheits- und Transportforschung sowie die Nanotechnologie und Materialforschung. Das Arbeitspaket wird insgesamt mindestens sechs Workshop und Konferenzen in den o.g. Bereichen organisieren, um Wissenschaftlern ein Diskussionsforum zu bieten oder diese auf Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten aufmerksam zu machen.  Darüber hinaus werden  „Terminologieleitfäden“ zur Überwindung der sprachlichen Unterschiede in der EU und US Projektförderung entwickelt werden.

Arbeitspaket 3  – „Identifikation von neuen vielversprechenden FuE-Themen für die EU-US  Zusammenarbeit“:
AP 3 bezieht sich zusätzlich zu den prioritären FuE Feldern für die EU-US Kooperation auf die Determinierung neuer Forschungs- und Innovationsthemen mit großem Potenzial. Neue Felder mit hohem Nutzen und Potenzial für die EU-US Zusammenarbeit werden identifiziert und in verschiedenen Workshops und Veranstaltungen mit Wissenschaflter beider aus der EU und USA thematisiert.

Arbeitspaket 4  – “Innovationsakteure in der transatlatischen FuE Kooperation”
AP4 intensiviert die Kooperation zwischen Akademie- und Industrieakteuren sowie die transatlantische Internationalisierung von Firmen durch folgende  Aktivitäten: die Identifikation, Analyse und Verbreitung von “Best Practices“ für EU-US Akademie-Industrie-Zusammenarbeit, die Durchführung von Cluster-Delegationsreisen (thematisch orientiert) in den USA und in Europa, die Durchführung einer Förderbekanntmachung, um Innovationsakteure eines bestimmten Bereichs zusammenzubringen und die Innovationskooperation anzutreiben.

Arbeitspaket 5  – “Dissemination und Kommunikation”
AP 5 hat das Ziel, eine effektive Kommunikationsstrategie und adäquate Mittel zur Informationsverbreitung zu entwickeln. Dazu gehören u.a.: die Entwicklung einer Projekt-Webseite, die Nutzung und die Einrichtung von Social Media Kanälen, die Bereitstellung einer Datenbank mit Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten für Forscher und Wissenschaftler, die Erstellung von Newslettern, Pressemitteilungen etc.

Arbeitspaket 6  – „Projektmanagement und Qualitätssicherung“:
AP6 dient der finanziellen und administrativen Projektdurchführung sowie einer standardisierten Qualitätssicherung von Projektaktivitäten, Projektreports und Deliverables.

zurück zur Übersicht der EU-Drittstaatenkooperationen