25.05.2012

German-Russian Year of Science gets high marks!

Focus on support for young scientists and researchers and vocational training and education / Schavan: "We have made considerable progress."

 

President of the FU Berlin, Dr Alt, Federal Minister of Education and Research, Dr Schavan and the Advisor to the Russian President, Dr Fursenko, at the closing event – © BMBF/ Mike Auerbach

The German-Russian Year of Science ends today with a conference at the Free University in Berlin. The motto of the campaign was "Partnership of Ideas". Since May 2011, it has been conveying the diversity and excellence of German-Russian partnerships in education and research in both countries. In well over 200 events, new contacts were made, key impetus was given for future projects and the way was paved for new initiatives. "Our ties at the research and education level have intensified markedly as a result. We have launched numerous developments that extend far beyond this Year of Science," explained Federal Minister of Education and Research, Annette Schavan. She gave it high marks particularly with respect to the strategy of focusing the Year of Science around four main issues: young scientists, vocational training and education, top-level research and innovation.

 

Detailed assessment:

Young scientists:

Cooperation among young researchers was fostered through joint lectures, workshops and working sessions. The collaboration between young scientists will serve as an important foundation for bilateral partnerships. "The ongoing dialogue between young German and Russian scientists will deepen our cooperation. I am pleased that we have made considerable progress in pursuing this shared interest," emphasised Schavan. The main participants were the German National Academy of Sciences (Leopoldina) along with the Junge Akademie and the Council of Young Scientists of the Russian Academy of Sciences. At the Russian-German Young Researchers Cooperation Forum that took place in Moscow in December 2011, the first discussions were held on possibilities for intensifying scientific cooperation between young scientists and the groundwork was laid for bilateral research projects with a memorandum.

Vocational education and training:

Politicians, business people and scientists from both countries met for the first time at a large conference on vocational training in the Russian city of Kaluga. All participants underscored the significance of German-Russian pilot projects in vocational education and training and decided to incorporate the results of the deliberations into the bilateral government consultations. The BMBF and its Russian partner ministry, MON, will set up a joint working group to support the partnerships in vocational training and education. This includes the Russian educational reform process that aims, among other things, to become more practically oriented in vocational training; coordinating vocational education standards particularly in the Russian automotive industry; and supporting German companies that offer training in Russia as providers of education and training, for example, in the energy efficiency sector.

Top-level research:

To strengthen joint top-level research, one of the aims of the Year of Science was to mutually open up and create shared research structures and expand joint project funding of both ministries. International graduate colleges, for example, are planned. German-Russian top-level research, which is already excellent in the area of information technology as evidenced by the large-scale projects XFEL (European x-ray laser in Hamburg) and FAIR (international accelerator facility in Darmstadt), will be further intensified through agreements in the area of supercomputers. A cooperation agreement was signed today by representatives of the two Helmholtz Centres, DESY and XFEL, the Forschungszentrum Jülich and the Moscow-based Kurchatov Institute as well as T-Platforms, a leading Russian provider of systems, services and solutions in the area of supercomputers. The agreement primarily revolves around access, management, storage and analysis of large quantities of data.

Innovation:

German-Russian partnerships were conceptualised and pilot projects launched during the Year of Science. Two German-Russian innovation conferences were held. The tried-and-tested bilateral funding of Russian and German small and medium-sized companies (SMEs) continued with the fourth joint announcement of the BMBF and the Russian Foundation for Assistance to Small Innovative Enterprises (FASIE). In March of this year, the Scientific Advisory Council of the Skolkovo Foundation made up of high-profile Russian and international members convened in Berlin and visited the Berlin-Adlershof science and technology park, the Berlin-Buch healthcare facility and the Technical University of Berlin. The Council signed a declaration of intent with the TU to collaborate closely with the Skolkovo Research City, which will be constructed on the outskirts of Moscow by 2015. Basic and applied research will be merged at this facility and Russian and foreign scientists and researchers will work and teach together here.

Source: 22.05.2012 [Press release 065/2012] / Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Photo: President of the FU Berlin, Dr Alt, Federal Minister of Education and Research, Dr Schavan and the Advisor to the Russian President, Dr Fursenko, at the closing event – © BMBF/ Mike Auerbach


© DLR 12/04/2014 10:29 - All rights reserved.

Deutsch-Russisches Wissenschaftsjahr mit positiver Bilanz!

Nachwuchsförderung und berufliche Bildung standen im Mittelpunkt / Schavan: "Wir sind entscheidende Schritte vorangekommen".

 

Präsident der FU Berlin Prof. Dr. Alt, Bundesforschungsministerin Prof. Dr. Schavan und der Berater des russischen Präsidenten Prof. Dr. Fursenko bei der Abschlussveranstaltung - ©  BMBF/ Mike Auerbach

Mit einer Konferenz an der Freien Universität Berlin geht heute das Deutsch-Russische Wissenschaftsjahr zu Ende. Es stand unter dem Motto "Partnerschaft der Ideen" und hat seit Mai 2011 in beiden Ländern die Vielfalt und die Exzellenz deutsch-russischer Bildungs- und Forschungskooperationen zum Ausdruck gebracht. In weit mehr als 200 Veranstaltungen wurden neue Kontakte geknüpft, wichtige Impulse für zukünftige Projekte gegeben und neue Initiativen auf den Weg gebracht. "Damit haben sich unsere Beziehungen auf Forschungs- und Bildungsebene spürbar intensiviert. Wir haben zahlreiche Entwicklungen angestoßen, die weit über dieses Wissenschaftsjahr hinaus reichen", erklärte Bundesforschungsministerin Annette Schavan. Damit zog sie eine positive Bilanz, gerade im Hinblick auf die Strategie, das Wissenschaftsjahr auf die vier Schwerpunkte Nachwuchswissenschaftler, Berufsbildung, Spitzenforschung und Innovation zu fokussieren. 

 

Die Bilanz im Einzelnen:

Nachwuchswissenschaftler:
Die Zusammenarbeit junger Forscher wurde durch gemeinsame Vorlesungen, Workshops und Arbeitstreffen gefördert. Die Zusammenarbeit von Nachwuchswissenschaftlern wird eine wichtige Grundlage der bilateralen Kooperationen sein. "Der ständige Dialog zwischen deutschen und russischen Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftlern wird unsere Zusammenarbeit vertiefen. Ich freue mich, dass dieses gemeinsame Anliegen einen entscheidenden Schritt vorangekommen ist", betonte Schavan. Hierbei engagierten sich vor allem die Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina mit der Jungen Akademie und der Council of Young Scientists der Russischen Akademie der Wissenschaften. So wurden im Russian-German Young Researchers Cooperation Forum im Dezember 2011 in Moskau erstmalig Möglichkeiten zur Intensivierung wissenschaftlicher Kooperationen des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses diskutiert und mit einem Memorandum der Weg für weitere bilaterale Forschungsprojekte vorgezeichnet.

Berufliche Aus- und Weiterbildung:
Erstmals trafen sich in einer großen Berufsbildungskonferenz im russischen Kaluga Politiker, Unternehmer und Wissenschaftler aus beiden Ländern. Alle Beteiligten unterstrichen die Bedeutung deutsch-russischer Pilotprojekte in der Berufsbildung und beschlossen, die Beratungsergebnisse in die bilateralen Regierungskonsultationen einzubringen. Das BMBF und sein russisches Partnerministerium MON werden eine gemeinsame Arbeitsgruppe einrichten, um die Kooperationen in der Berufsbildung zu begleiten. Dazu gehören der russische Bildungsreformprozess, durch den unter anderem die Berufsbildung praxisnäher werden soll; die Abstimmung neuer Berufsbildungsstandards, insbesondere in der russischen Automobilindustrie; und die Unterstützung deutscher Unternehmen, die als Bildungsdienstleister Fortbildungen in Russland anbieten, zum Beispiel im Energieeffizienzbereich.

Spitzenforschung:
Zur Stärkung der gemeinsamen Spitzenforschung wurden im Rahmen des Wissenschaftsjahres die gegenseitige Öffnung und die Neugründung gemeinsamer Forschungsstrukturen vorangetrieben und die gemeinsame Projektförderung beider Ministerien ausgebaut. Beispielsweise sollen internationale Graduiertenkollegs eingerichtet werden. Die heute schon exzellente deutsch-russische Spitzenforschung auf dem Feld der Informationstechnologie, etwa im Rahmen der Großprojekte XFEL (Europäischer Röntgenlaser in Hamburg) und FAIR (Internationales Beschleunigerzentrum in Darmstadt) wird durch Vereinbarungen zum Thema Höchstleistungsrechner noch einmal deutlich intensiviert. So unterzeichneten heute Vertreter der beiden Helmholtz-Zentren DESY/XFEL und Forschungszentrum Jülich und des Moskauer Kurchatov-Instituts sowie von T-Platforms, einem führenden russischen Anbieter von Systemen, Dienstleistungen und Lösungen im Bereich des Höchstleistungsrechnens, ein Kooperationsabkommen. Dabei geht es insbesondere um Zugang, Management, Speicherung und Analyse großer Datenmengen.

Innovation:
Im Wissenschaftsjahr wurden deutsch-russische Partnerschaften konzipiert und Pilotmaßnahmen gestartet. Es fanden zwei deutsch-russische Innovationskonferenzen statt. Mit der vierten gemeinsamen Bekanntmachung des BMBF und des Russischen Fonds für die Unterstützung kleiner innovativer Unternehmen (FASIE) wurde die bewährte bilaterale Förderung angewandter Forschung russischer und deutscher kleiner und mittlerer Unternehmen (KMU) fortgesetzt. Im März diesen Jahres tagte der russisch und international hochkarätig besetzte wissenschaftliche Beirat der Skolkovo-Stiftung in Berlin und besuchte den Wissenschafts- und Technologiepark Berlin-Adlershof, den Gesundheitsstandort Berlin-Buch und die TU Berlin. Mit der TU hat er eine Absichtserklärung für eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit der Forschungsstadt Skolkovo unterzeichnet, die bis 2015 vor den Toren Moskaus entsteht. Dort sollen Grundlagenforschung und angewandte Forschung zusammengeführt werden und russische und ausländische Wissenschaftler gemeinsam forschen und lehren.

Quelle: 22.05.2012 [Pressemitteilung 065/2012] / Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Foto: Präsident der FU Berlin Prof. Dr. Alt, Bundesforschungsministerin Prof. Dr. Schavan und der Berater des russischen Präsidenten Prof. Dr. Fursenko bei der Abschlussveranstaltung - © BMBF/ Mike Auerbach


© BMBF 16.04.2014 16:59:00 - Alle Rechte vorbehalten.