Hungary

Germany is one of Hungary’s most important international partners and by far its most important trading partner; German companies are the most important investors in the automotive industry and the ICT sector. Hungary also offers an excellent research landscape to support these two fields. Excellent starting points for research cooperation also exist in the fields of biotechnology, medicine, chemistry and pharmaceuticals.

Political framework for cooperation

Research cooperation between Germany and Hungary has a long tradition. Bilateral cooperation in science and technology is based on an agreement on scientific and technological cooperation that was concluded between the governments of the Federal Republic of Germany and the Republic of Hungary on 7 October 1987 (in force since 7 October 1987). In addition, a bilateral agreement on cultural cooperation with Hungary was concluded on 1 March 1994. Increased cooperation in the field of research and technology and sustainable research cooperation was agreed in the joint declaration made by the research ministries of the two countries in Budapest on 15 September 2004.

In June 2013, the Hungarian government adopted a new innovation strategy entitled "investment in the future". This research and development (R&D) and innovation strategy for 2020 has three main objectives:

  • to develop internationally competitive knowledge bases,
  • to initiate efficient processes for the utilization of knowledge,
  • to generate a strong flow of expertise.

Six parallel goals have been identified alongside these, including “smart specialisation” in the regions, tools for sustainability and equality and a stable financial framework.

Increasing R&D expenditure, which was most recently above 1% and is showing signs of rising slightly, remains a central goal in Hungary's research policy (2012: 1.29%; 2011: 1.21%, 2010: 1.16%: Source: NIH/Eurostat). The benchmark figure set out in the framework of the innovation strategy for 2020 is 1.8% by the end of the decade.

The allocation funds for the EU funding period 2014-2020 comes under the remit of the "Széchenyi 2020" plan. Out of the 11 thematic goals, two are focused on education and research:

  • strengthening research, technological development and innovation
  • investing in education, skills and lifelong learning

Hungary actively participates in building up the European Research Area (ERA). During its first EU presidency in the first half of 2011, Hungary worked on central issues relating to economic growth and innovation at European level. For instance, the efforts to establish an EU patent were intensified and the EU macrostrategy for the Danube Region (EUSDR) was adopted, the third priority of which is to promote education, research and innovation. Hungary served as the chair of EUREKA between July 2011 and June 2012. In its role as chair, Hungary was committed, among other things, to strengthening the Eurostars Programme and increasing the number of industry-driven projects.

Highlights of bilateral cooperation

The German-language Andrássy Gyula University was opened in Budapest in September 2002. The university was founded by, in addition to Hungary, the Republic of Austria, the State of Baden-Württemberg and the Free State of Bavaria. Since 2002 the postgraduate Andrássy University has received support from the DAAD and the German Foreign Office with guest lecturers and grants. To commemorate the 10-year anniversary of the “Ulm Declaration” which founded the Andrássy University, the funding pledges were renewed by Germany, Austria and Hungary as well as by the states of Baden-Württemberg and Bavaria in a “Joint Declaration” on 15 April 2011. The financing commitments were extended for another five years for the master’s and graduate programmes at the three departments of the Andrássy University as well as for the research activities of the Danube Institute. The Federal Republic of Germany is contributing EUR 1.8 million to the increased funding.

The Bay Zoltán Foundation for Applied Research (BZAKA) was founded in 1992 with the aim of building a network that would function as a bridge between university research centres and industry. The German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) supported the creation of the foundation and its first three institutes over several years, by engaging experts of the Fraunhofer Society and by supporting bilateral collaborative projects. At the end of 2011, the Bay Zoltán Foundation was converted into a non-profit, private organisation ("Nonprofit Kft."). Bay Zoltán Nonprofit Kft. is made up of four specialist institutes (Biotechnology, Logistics, ICT and Materials Science) and a department for International Relations. It also operates an Innovation Park (BAY-INNO).

Funding the German-Hungarian cooperation

In the joint ministerial declaration of 15 September 2004, German Federal Minister Bulmahn and the Hungarian Minister for Education Magyar came to an agreement to install joint research bases as a new instrument of cooperation. Work on the first German-Hungarian research base “Ambient Intelligence” got underway back in autumn 2004. The BMBF provided funding for this cooperation project until 2008. The project brought together the expertise of the Fraunhofer Institute for Experimental Software Engineering (IESE) in Kaiserslautern and the Bay Zoltàn Foundation for Applied Research in Budapest. Since its establishment, it has supported the development of seven German-Hungarian research bases. One of the most recent examples is the cooperation between the Fraunhofer Institute for Manufacturing Engineering and Automation (IPA) and the Computer and Automation Research Institute, Hungarian Academy of Sciences (SZTAKI). In May 2010 the partners established a project centre – Production Management and Informatics (PMI) – in Budapest (www.fraunhofer.hu).

Within the scope of the regional call for proposals "International Cooperation in Education and Research – Central, Eastern and South Eastern Europe", 19 projects involving Hungarian participation have been successfully completed since 2004. The projects run to date have taken a key focus on the topics of environmental protection and ICT. On the whole, the goal of these cooperation projects is to submit joint project proposals to the BMBF funding programmes or the European Union’s 7th Research Framework Programme. Most recently, the University of Kassel and the Eszterházy Károly College for applied sciences in Eger entered a collaboration in the field of renewable energy in May 2013.

A bilateral call for proposals from Hungary's National Innovation Office (NIH) for bilateral science and technology projects led to the submission of 17 project proposals in 2013. For projects starting in mid 2014, the central focus will be on health and nutrition, with eight projects being launched in this field.

As part of the first announcement by the BMBF on the Danube Region in 2013, Hungary emerged as the most popular partner country out of the Danube countries. With 19 project contributions, Hungary has the largest proportion of funded projects, with six of these focussing on the key topic of climate, environment and sustainability.

Documents

Contact Persons


  • Dr. Ralf Hagedorn

    • Senior Scientific Officer
    • Heinrich-Konen-Str. 1
    • 53227 Bonn
    • Telephone: +49 228 3821-1492
    • Fax: +49 228 3821-1490
    • Email Address: Ralf.Hagedorn@dlr.de

© BMBF 23.04.2014 17:06:04 - All rights reserved.

Ungarn

Deutschland gehört zu den wichtigsten internationalen Partnern Ungarns. So ist Deutschland mit Abstand der wichtigste Handelspartner, deutsche Firmen sind in der Automobilindustrie und im IKT-Sektor bedeutendste Investoren. In diesen beiden Feldern bietet Ungarn zudem eine hervorragende, unterstützende Forschungslandschaft. Gute Ansatzpunkte für Forschungskooperationen ergeben sich auch in Forschungsbereichen wie Biotechnologie, Medizin sowie Chemie/Pharmazie.
Fördermöglichkeiten für Ungarn 


Politischer Rahmen der Zusammenarbeit

Die deutsch-ungarische Forschungskooperation hat eine lange Tradition. Die bilaterale Zusammenarbeit in Wissenschaft und Technologie basiert auf dem Abkommen zwischen der Regierung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und der Regierung der Republik Ungarn über wissenschaftlich-technische Zusammenarbeit vom 07.10.1987 (in Kraft seit: 07.10.1987). Darüber hinaus existiert ein bilaterales Abkommen über kulturelle Zusammenarbeit mit Ungarn vom 01.03.1994. Verstärkte Zusammenarbeit auf dem Gebiet der Forschung und Technologie und nachhaltige Forschungskooperationen wurden in der Gemeinsamen Erklärung der beiden Forschungsministerien am 15. September 2004 in Budapest vereinbart.

Die ungarische Regierung hat im Juni 2013 eine neue Innovationsstrategie unter dem Titel „Investition in die Zukunft“ verabschiedet. Diese „F&E- und Innovationsstrategie 2020“ hat drei Hauptzielrichtungen:

  • Entwicklung von international wettbewerbsfähigen Wissensbasen,
  • Initiierung von effizienten Wissensverwertungsprozessen,
  • Generierung eines intensiven Flusses von Knowhow.

Dazu sind sechs horizontale Ziele definiert, darunter Intelligente Spezialisierung in den Regionen, Instrumente für Nachhaltigkeit und Gleichstellung, stabile finanzielle Rahmenbedingungen.

Ein zentrales Ziel der ungarischen Forschungspolitik bleibt die Erhöhung der zuletzt bei gut einem Prozent liegenden, leicht ansteigenden FuE-Ausgaben (2012: 1,29; 2011: 1,21 %, 2010: 1,16: Quelle: NIH/Eurostat). Der Richtwert im Rahmen der Innovationsstrategie 2020 liegt bei 1,8 Prozent zum Ende des Jahrzehnts.

Die Mittelvergabe der EU-Förderperiode 2014-2020 ist unter das Leitprogramm „Szechényi 2020“ gestellt. Von den elf thematischen Zielen sind zwei auf Bildung und Forschung ausgerichtet:

  • Stärkung von Forschung, Technologieentwicklung und Innovation
  • Investition in Bildung, Fähigkeiten und Lebenslanges Lernen

Ungarn beteiligt sich aktiv am Aufbau des Europäischen Forschungsraums (EFR). Während seiner ersten EU-Präsidentschaft in der ersten Hälfte 2011 hat sich Ungarn für zentrale Wirtschaftswachstums- und Innovationsthemen auf europäischer Ebene engagiert. So wurden die Bestrebungen eines EU-Patents forciert und die EU-Makrostrategie für den Donauraum (EUSDR) verabschiedet, deren dritte Prioritätsachse auf Bildung, Forschung und Innovation zielt. Zwischen 2011 und 2012 hatte Ungarn den zwölfmonatigen EUREKA-Vorsitz inne. Ungarn hat sich im Rahmen des Vorsitzes u.a. für eine Stärkung des Eurostars-Programm und eine höhere Zahl industriegetriebener Projekte eingesetzt.

Höhepunkte der bilateralen Kooperation

Die Andrássy Gyula Deutschsprachige Universität Budapest hat im September 2002 den Studienbetrieb aufgenommen. Gründungspartner sind neben Ungarn die Republik Österreich, das Land Baden-Württemberg und der Freistaat Bayern. Seit 2002 wird die post-graduale Andrássy-Universität vom DAAD und dem Auswärtigen Amt mit Gastdozenturen und Stipendien unterstützt. Anlässlich des Jubiläums „10 Jahre Ulmer Erklärung“ zur Gründung der Andrássy-Universität wurden die Unterstützungszusagen von Deutschland, Österreich und Ungarn sowie der Bundesländer Baden-Württemberg und Bayern im Rahmen einer „Gemeinsamen Erklärung“ am 15. April 2011 erneuert. Für die Master- und Aufbaustudiengänge an den drei Fakultäten der Andrássy-Universität sowie für die Forschungsaktivitäten des Donauinstituts wurden die Finanzierungszusagen für weitere fünf Jahre verlängert. Die Bundesrepublik Deutschland beteiligt sich mit 1,8 Mio. Euro an den erhöhten Fördermitteln.

Die Bay-Zoltán-Stiftung für Angewandte Forschung (BZAKA) wurde 1992 mit dem Ziel gegründet, ein Netzwerk aufzubauen, welches die Funktion einer Brücke zwischen den universitären Forschungsstätten und der Industrie übernimmt. BMBF unterstützte den Aufbau der Stiftung und ihrer ersten drei Institute über mehrere Jahre u.a. durch die Einschaltung von Experten der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und durch die Förderung von bilateralen Verbundprojekten. Die Bay-Zoltán-Stiftung wurde zu Ende 2011 in eine gemeinnützige, privatwirtschaftliche Organisationsform umgewandelt ("Nonprofit Kft."). Die Bay-Zoltán Kft. ist in vier Fachinstitute (Biotechnologie, Logistik, IKT, Materialwissenschaft) und eine Abteilung für Internationale Beziehungen strukturiert. Darüber hinaus betreibt sie einen Innovationspark (BAY-INNO).

Förderung der deutsch-ungarischen Kooperation

Am 15. September 2004 kamen Bundesministerin Bulmahn und der ungarische Bildungsminister Magyar in einer Gemeinsamen Erklärung überein, gemeinsame Forschungsbasen als neues Kooperationsinstrument zu installieren. Noch im Herbst 2004 begann der Aufbau der ersten deutsch-ungarischen Forschungsbasis "Ambient Intelligence". Bis 2008 förderte das BMBF dieses Kooperationsprojekt, in dem Kompetenzen des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Experimentelles Software Engineering (IESE) in Kaiserslautern und der Bay-Zoltàn-Stiftung für angewandte Forschung in Budapest verbunden wurden. Insgesamt wurde bislang der Aufbau von sieben deutsch-ungarischen Forschungsbasen gefördert, eines der jüngsten Beispiele ist die Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnik und Automatisierung (IPA) und dem Forschungsinstitut für Rechnertechnik und Automatisierung der Ungarischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (SZTAKI). Die Partner haben im Mai 2010 ein Projekt-Center - Production Management and Informatics (PMI) – in Budapest gegründet (www.fraunhofer.hu).

Im Rahmen der Regionalausschreibung „Internationale Zusammenarbeit in Bildung und Forschung, Region Mittel-, Ost- und Südosteuropa“ sind seit 2004 neunzehn Projekte mit ungarischer Beteiligung abgeschlossen worden. Thematische Schwerpunkte der bisherigen Projekte liegen in den Bereichen Umweltschutz und IKT. Ziel dieser Kooperationen ist in der Regel eine gemeinsame Projektantragstellung in den Förderprogrammen des BMBF oder im 7. Forschungsrahmenprogramm der Europäischen Union. Zuletzt wurde im Mai 2013 eine Kooperation zwischen der Universität Kassel und der Eszterházy-Károly-Fachhochschule, Eger, im Bereich Erneuerbare Energien abgeschlossen.

Eine bilaterale Ausschreibung des Nationalen Innovationsamts Ungarns (NIH) für bilaterale Wissenschafts- und Technologieprojekte hat 2013 zur Einreichung von 17 Projektvorschlägen geführt. Bei den Mitte 2014 startenden Vorhaben steht der Bereich Gesundheit/Ernährung mit acht Vorhaben im Mittelpunkt.

Im Rahmen der ersten BMBF-Donauraumbekanntmachung 2013 erweist sich Ungarn als beliebtestes Kooperationsland unter den Donauländern. Bei den befürworteten Vorhaben stellt Ungarn mit 19 Projektbeteiligungen den größten Anteil, den thematischen Schwerpunkt bildet mit sechs Vorhaben der Bereich Klima/Umwelt/Nachhaltigkeit.

Dokumente

Ansprechpartner


  • Dr. Ralf Hagedorn

    • Fachlicher Ansprechpartner
    • Heinrich-Konen-Str. 1
    • 53227 Bonn
    • Telefonnummer: +49 228 3821-1492
    • Faxnummer: +49 228 3821-1490
    • E-Mail-Adresse: Ralf.Hagedorn@dlr.de

© BMBF 23.04.2014 17:06:05 - Alle Rechte vorbehalten.